UPDATE: Conservatives retain seats across region

Election newsElection news
Election news
The Conservatives have retained seats in North East Cambridgeshire, Grantham & Stamford, Huntingdon, Rutland & Melton and South Holland & The Deepings.

MP Nick Boles, who is currently battling cancer and was unable to attend the count, has retained his Grantham and Stamford seat with 35,090 votes.

Fellow Tory John Hayes swept to victory in South Holland & The Deepings securing a sixth term as MP and a record 35,179 votes.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Stephen Barclay held the North East Cambs seat for the Tories and Conservative Jonathan Djanogly will continue as MP for Huntingdon his fifth successful term but his majority was eroded by just under 5,000 votes to 14,475.

Sir Alan Duncan has been re-elected as Rutland and Melton MP for a sixth term with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate polled 36,169 votes on a night when the constituency turnout was up five per cent on 2015 to 73.42%.

Seconds after the result was announced by returning officer. Mayor of Melton, Councillor Tejpal Bains, Mr Duncan said: “I’m pleased to have been re - elected with an increased majority.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“Conservative support remains very strong in Rutland and Melton.”

Labour made big gains with candidate Dr Heather Peto polling 13,065 votes to finish a clear second from Liberal Democrat Ed Reynolds (4,711).

The results:

Grantham & Stamford:

Nick Boles (Con)- 35,090

Barrie Fairbairn (Lab) - 14,996

Anita Day (Lib Dem) - 3,120

Tariq Mahmood (Independent) - 860

Rebecca Thackray (Green Party) - 782

North East Cambridgeshire:

Stephen Barclay (Conservative) - 34,340

Darren Fower (Lib Dem) - 2,383

Stephen Goldspink (English Democrats) - 293

Ruth Johnson (Green) - 1,024

Kenneth Rustidge (Labour) - 13,070

Robin Talbot (UKIP) - 2,174

South Holland & The Deepings:

John Hayes (Conservative) - 35,179

Voyteck Kowalewski (Labour) - 10,282

Nicola Smith (UKIP) - 2,185

Julia Cambridge (Liberal Democrat) - 1,433

Daniel Wilshire (Green Party) - 894

Rick Stringer (Independent) - 342


Jonathan Djanogly (Conservative) - 32,915

Dr Nik Johnson (Labour Party) - 18,440

Rod Cantrill (Liberal Democrats) - 5,090

Paul Bullen (UKIP) - 2,180

Tom MacLennan (Greens) - 1,095

Rutland & Melton:

Sir Alan Duncan (Conservative) - 36169

Heather Peto (Labour) - 13065

Ed Reynolds (Liberal Democrat) - 4711

John Scutter (UKIP) 1869

Alastair McQuillan (Green) - 1755