President led the way to a national bowls title

​Northants bowlers delivered an outstanding performance to lift the English Bowling Federation's Eversley Trophy on the final day of the national indoor finals at Lincoln.

​County president Martyn Dolby led the team of Graham Agger, Peter Brown, Cliff Watson, Les Sharp and Bob Warters to a fifth success in 14 years in a double rink event for county executives.

They were unbeaten in four matches, finishing with 22 points from a maximum 24 to edge out Notts (20).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the individual events, schoolboy Ollie Jeapes just missed out on retaining his under 25 open singles title, losing 21-17 in the final.

England international Stephen Harris reached the semi-finals of the singles, where he was beaten 21-18 by host club manager Danny Brown.

Those two apart, it was a disappointing week for the county, as they failed to win a match in any other discipline.



Singles: Stephen Harris lost 21-18 in the semi-finals to Lincs after victories over Norfolk (21-5) and North Cambs (21-8); Veterans singles: Martyn Dolby lost 21-9 to Lincs; Under 25 open singles: Ollie Jeapes lost 21-17 in the final to Notts after victories over Hunts and Northumberland; Pairs: Paul Dalliday & Tristan Morton lost 17-8 to Derbys; Triples: Paul Dalliday, Brian Martin (sub for Tristan Morton), Simon Law lost 21-17 to Suffolk.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Singles: Michelle Smith lost 21-9 to Notts; Senior singles: Elizabeth Wallace lost 21-14 to Notts; Pairs: Shirley Suffling & Chris Ford lost 26-4 to Durham; Triples: Margaret King, Moira Holroyd, Pat Jones lost 26-10 to Humberside.


Pairs: Cliff Watson & Liz Hext lost 18-17 to Suffolk; Triples: Michelle Smith, Tom Newman, Ian Smith lost 20-12 to North Cambs.

Several local bowlers will be involved in the England international training day at Leamington on May 20 ahead of the British Isles international series.

Brampton’s Nicky Brett and Lewis Baker are joined by Parkway's Tristan Morton, while Hunts have three players in the women's squad - Chloe Brett, Rebecca Moorbey and Michelle Coleman.

Related topics: