MEMORY LANE: Molins Bowls Club v Molins President’s team

Molins Bowls Club President's team.Molins Bowls Club President's team.
Molins Bowls Club President's team.
Malcolm Squires sent in the photographs of the Molins Bowls Club and Molins President’s teams that that clashed at the Fleet in 1983.

Malcolm is pictured second right, front row in the President’s team. His teammates were Phil Jenkins, Geoff Chapman, John Geoghegan, Jim Wales, Ken Sparkes, Peter Brundle, Steve Dunbar, Dave Woods, Joe Hudders, Les Chapman, John Devenish, Mike Dench, John Blackwell, Rod Boughton, Arthur Hunt, Sam Thompson, Roger Strong, Bill Kinsy, Terry Cairney, Bob Kent, Dick Witney (President), Bob Ling, Brian Swann and Laurie Hoath.

The Molins club team was: Fred Camp (Half Hidden), Barry Curtis, Mick Budd, Nick Darani, Phillip Yates, Dennis Strong, Tony Phillips, Jim Davidson, Fred Strong, Phil McQuillen, Gerry McQuillen, Paul Bryant, Ron Wilks, Mick Murphy, Chris Bines, Joe Davis, Ted Hurst, Mick Pegler, Rosemary Strong, Jeannie Griffiths, Chris Darani, Peter McQuillen Strong, Jessica Phillips, Muriel Davidson, Mandy Brundle, Dave Murphy, Linda Darani, Norma Squires.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Several players went on to either national or county success in particular the ladies. Mandy Brundle (now Jacklin) played for England and won Bronze in the 1998 Commonwealth Games along with her Peterborough team mate Catherine Anton.(now Popple). Linda Darani was a member of the Huntingdonshire team that won the Bowls England Walker Cup in 2012. Linda has also won four English Women’s Bowls Federation national titles. Champion of Champions in 2010, Secretaries 2012, Pairs with Jeannie Griffiths 1999 and Two Bowl Triples with Norma Squires and Fiona Richardson 2014.

Molins Bowls Club 1983.Molins Bowls Club 1983.
Molins Bowls Club 1983.

Molins started playing at Central Park moving to The Fleet in 1982 before amalgamating with Belvedere at New England in 1995 where we stayed until 2013 when we vacated the premises as the City Council wanted to build a school on the site. We reformed from 2014 as City of Peterborough and became a section of Peterborough Town Sports Club. We played at Werrington during 2014 season whilst our green was built at Bretton Gate where we moved in 2015.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.