LOOKING BACK: Schoolboy Akhtar's brilliant century

The Old Deaconians retained the Huggard Trophy with a 21-run win over Deacon's School.

Saturday, 23rd July 2016, 10:00 am
The Old Deaconians that beat Deacon's School 30 years ago. Back row, left to right, Colin Davison, Norman Saltmasrh, Paul Stimpson, Martin Hings, Lionel Butler, Stuart Butler, Carol Jeffs. Front, Lou Scott, Ian Chilvers, Paul Bowes, David McQuillen, Colin Slater,Barry Morris.

Ajaz Akhtar struck 103 (12 fours, four sixes) of the school’s 152-7 with Barry Morris cracking 100 for the old boys. Dave McQuillen scored 30 and took 4-35 for the winners.

Other cicket news from this week in years gone by


Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Jamie Smith (4-46) and Nadeem Mohammed (74no) were the stars for title-chasing Peterborough Town in a seven-wicket Northants Premier Division won at Rushden.


Chris Jones of Market Deeping was leading the race to become merit table king with 13 batting entries, four more than nearest rival Langtoft’s Frank Gloster.

Duncan Craig of Orton Park was the leading bowler.

Alan Swann claimed 5-47 as South Lincs Premier Division leaders Peterborough Town were held to a draw by Bourne. Andy Afford bagged 5-51 for Bourne.

Ivan Wallis of Oundle, who hit 157, and Ian Henderson of Peterborough Town, who took 8-33, topped the merit table charts.