125th anniversary for local FA

The Peterborough Football Assosication will be celebrating their 125th anniversary next season.

Thursday, 23rd June 2016, 12:14 pm
Updated Thursday, 23rd June 2016, 1:17 pm
The members of the Peterborough Football Association line up for the camera at their annual general meeting . From the left are, back, Tony Nash , Robert Windle , Ray Johnson, Ashsley Baldock-Smith , Derek Gibson, middle, Les Hutchings , George Wilson, Mervyn Cowdell, Mario Storti, Stan Cox, front, David Stapleton, Paul Clarke , Clive Wilson, Paul Redgate, Mark Chambers and Peter Camm. Picture: RWT Photography

Special events in the pipeline include a match between Oundle Town and Warboys Town, the Association’s two oldest clubs, and a game between a team of Sunday football legends and a team made up of the winners of last season’s PFA Sunday Senior and Junior Cups.

The PFA are also looking to run a competition along the same lines as the famous Oundle Sixes.

The annual Jack Hogg Memorial Shield match will take place on July 22 between LangtoftUnited and Moulton Harrox at Chestnut Avenue. A kick-off time has yet to be confirmed. Harrox have played in the Shield on five previous occasions and are the current joint holders with Whittlesey Athletic.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

At the recent PFA annual meeting it was decided to continue with the experiment of there being no extra-time in PFA Cup matches during the 2016-17 season.

Officers elected:

Emertius President - Maurice Starkey.

President - Clive Wilson.

Life Members - Derek Vernum, Maurice Starkey, Clive Wilson, Mario Storti, George Wilson, Len Malkin, Tony Nash, Alan Mutton, Mervyn Cowdell.

Vice-Presidents - Mark Chambers, David Stapleton, Paul Clarke.

General Secretary - Paul Redgate.

Treasurer - Mark Chambers .

Members of Council - Chris Howard, Derek Gibson, Ray Johnson, Stan Cox, Chris Sutton, Kevin Webster, Robert Windle, Pete Chappell, Ray Smith, Peter Camm.