Biggest payday so far for Thorpe Wood pro Brown

Top city golfer Stuart Brown picked up the biggest cheque of his career last week when finishing third in the big £78,000 Titleist & FootJoy PGA Professional Championship at The Oxfordshire.

Thursday, 4th August 2016, 8:50 am
Updated Thursday, 4th August 2016, 9:55 am
Stuart Brown played some great golf at The Oxfordshire.

The Thorpe Wood professional finished with a four-round total of 280, which was eight under par, and he collected £3,975 for his gallant effort.

Ireland’s David Higgins took the first prize of £10,000 and the use of a Peugeot 308 GT for a year with a 15-under-par 273.

Brown fired rounds of 69, 70, 69 and 72 while Higgins shot 69, 66, 72 and 66.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

St George’s Hill pro Andy Raitt was runner-up on 276 (63, 77, 69 and 67) and he pocketed £6,420.

Brown made an electrifying start to the tournament with birdies at five of the first seven holes to reach the turn an impressive five under. He went six under at the par five 11th, but dropped shots at the 12th, 16th and 17th meant a 69 instead of a 66.

He hit four birdies in both his second round 70 and third round 69 and in his closing round of 72 he had three.

Brown’s previous best prize was £2,000 (twice). He received that for winning the PGA East Region Championship at Essendon last year and at Wanstead in 2011.


The Greetham Valley club championships were decided over 36 holes at the weekend.

In the men’s competition only one shot separated the top two - Adam Clegg (72) and Nick Cunnington (73) - at the top of the leaderboard after the first round.

Cunnington continued to push Clegg all the way over the first nine in the second round, but a disaster on the 14th hole saw him drop out of contention and leave Clegg in the clear. He fired another steady round of 73 to win by nine shots from Darren Sargood.

The best net return of 134 (65 and 69) belonged to Peter Wood.

The ladies championship was won by two-handicapper Sophie Beardsall, who put together rounds of 76 and 77 for a 153 total. Second place went to Ellie Haughton with 157 while her sister Izzy Haughton had the best net score of 139.

The second round of the seniors championship was also played at the weekend and Graham Smith won with a final total of 153 ( 77 and 76).




Captain’s Day Stableford: Division One - 1 Rory Edwards 42pts; 2 Mohammed-Reza Bande-Ali 40pts; 3 Geoff Dyson 37pts. Division Two - 1 Andy Izod 41pts; 2 Paul Glossop 40pts; 3 Clark McCrae 40pts. Division Three - 1 Stephen Drinkwater 36pts; 2 Zair Hussain 35pts; 3 Joe Maddalo 34pts.

Peterborough Milton 6.5, Northants County 1.5, Northants Scratch League (Milton names only): Dominic Ralfs won 6&5; Ian Wicks won 6&5; Mark Phillips won 6&4; James Walters won 6&4; Chris Savage lost 2&1; Phil Hughes won 4&3; Chris White won 1 up; Tom Burgh halved.


Burghley Park 5, Milton 3 (Milton names first): Robert Lakin/Pete Glover lost to Maurice Egglestone/Tony Caruth 2 down; Keith Benson/Steve Moule lost to Jim Clarke/Keith Duff 5&4; David Norris/George Garnish beat Peter Hickman/George Clayton-Jones 3&2; Bob Streeton/Colin Phillips lost to Richard Cook/Phil Hunt 3&1; Brent Joyce/Don McFarlane beat Bob Collier/Dave Devlon 4&3; Geoff Dunmore/Roy Chowings lost to Alan Kinch/Brian Plowright 3&2; Mike Williamson/Malcolm Wakefield beat Bill Purchase/Brian Tunnicliffe 4&3; Tom Streeton/Mike Goodall lost to Terry Lill/Alan Gray 3&1.

Club Captain David’s Stableford: 1 Pete Glover 40pts; 2 Richard Brewer 38pts; 3 Malcolm Wakefield 38pts.

King’s Lynn 7, Peterborough Milton 1 (Milton names only): Robert Lakin/Terry Moon lost 3&2; Mike McKendrick/Eddie Trevor lost 3&2; Keith Benson/Pete Glover lost 5&4; Jim Millar/Don McFarlane won 6&5; George Garnish/Sut Panchi lost 2&1; Malcolm Wakefield/Steve Moule lost 5&4; Bob Streeton/Geoff Dunmore lost 2&1; Tom Streeton/Mike Goodall lost 3&2.


Peterborough Milton 3, Kettering 1, Northants Junior League (Milton names only): Samuel Ludlow won 3&2; Charlie Armitage lost 3&1; Michael Wood won 4&2; Samuel Balaam won 2 up.



Club Championship: Gross - 1 Adam Clegg 145 (72, 73); 2 Darren Sargood 154. Net - 1 Peter Wood 134 ( 65, 69); 2 Adam Clegg 137.


Club Championship: Gross - 1 Sophie Beardsall 152 (76, 76); 2 Ellie Haughton 157. Net - 1 Izzy Haughton 139 (70, 69); 2 Ellie Haughton 145.

Bunny Cup: 1 Bryony Batch 33pts.

Midweek Stableford: 1 Annie McCulloch 42pts; 2 Pat Jamieson 38pts; 3 Jane O’Donnell 37pts.


Club Championship: 1 Graham Smith 153 (77, 76); 2= Ken Porter and Tim Nixon 164. Net - 1 Steve Taylor 138; 2 Radley Wardhaugh 141; 3 Ken Porter 142.



Roll Up Medal: 1 J. Summerfield 70; 2 A. Scott 71.

Furzegate Pairs: 1 G. Starkey/D. Woods 62; 2 M. Doody/S. Davis 63.


Midweek Stableford: 1 D. Franklin 33pts; 2 K. Henderson 32pts.

Elton Furze 2, Ramsey 2 (Elton Furze names first): S. Dibble/J. Leitch beat S. Kjenstad/M. Chapman 6&5; J. Elliott/J. Martin beat S. Bentham/L. Charlton 5&4; L. Johnson/J. Butler lost to J. Freeman/D. Robinson 2&1; M. Smith/C. Rudkin lost to H. Suswain/P. Simpson 4&3.


Elton Furze 3.5, Peterborough Milton 2.5 (Elton Furze names first): S. Dibble/P. Bolden lost to C. Dunn/D. Wright 3&1; J. Elliott/R. Sparling beat C. Phillips/T. Brown 2&1; J. Butler/L. Randall beat B. R. Laxton/K. Trevor 1 up; H. Bayliss/E. Butler beat E. Trevor/B. Bandaranaike 4&3; A. Cordrey/D. Smith halved with N. Brown/C.Laxton; M. Smith/T. Kane lost to I. Smith/K. Pateman 2&1.


Elton Furze 2.5, Cambridge Meridian 5.5 (Elton Furze names only): D. Tansley/S. Bullimorehalved; F. Smith/G. Blagden lost 2&1; B. Wells/G. Delaney lost 1 down; J. Thory/R. Watts lost 4&3; N. Bason/A. Turner won 3&2; N. Meager/M. Mitchell lost 8&7; R. Freeborough/J. Gooderson lost 2&1; B. Stone/R. Mayhew won 4&2.



Ping Fourball Betterball: 1 Ann Hawkins/Carol Alban 45pts; 2 Cath Hunt/Tae Gooding 42pts; 3 Barbara Bird/Joan Longstaff 39pts.


Nene Park 5, Ely City 1, CAGU Friendly Golf Knockout Trophy semi-final (Nene Park names only): Kallon Rawlings/Tyler Burr won 2up; Lucas Bickers/Rylan Thomas halved; Corey Dann/Daniel Clarke won 2-0.