BREAKING VIDEO: Shailesh Vara retains North West Cambs seat

Conservative Shailesh Vara has retained his North West Cambridgeshire seat with a slightly reduced majority.

Friday, 9th June 2017, 4:19 am
Updated Tuesday, 13th June 2017, 3:28 pm
Stewart Jackson, left, discusses the vote with Shailesh Vara, right

He beat off Labour’s Iain Ramsbottom (9,521 votes), Liberal Democrat Bridget Smith (3,168), UKIP’s John Whitby (2,518) and Green’s Gregor Guthrie (1,255) to secure his fourth term as MP with 37,529 votes.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Mr Vara’s18,008 majority was slightly down on his 2015 election result where he enjoyed a 19,795 majority.

His victory came as fellow Tory lost his neighbouring Peterborough seat to Labour’s Fiona Onasanya.

More to follow shortly.