MERIT TABLE: Zeeshan is the best batsman, just ahead of a Sawtry veteran and a Leicestershire star

Zeeshan Manzoor struck 129 for Ketton Sports against Grantham.Zeeshan Manzoor struck 129 for Ketton Sports against Grantham.
Zeeshan Manzoor struck 129 for Ketton Sports against Grantham.
Zeeshan Manzoor and Tom Sanderson were the top performers with bat and ball on the local cricket scene last weekend (May 5/6).

Manzoor clubbed 129 for Ketton Sports in a Rutland Division One win over Grantham, while Sanderson bagged 6-8 for Peterborough Town thirds in a nine-wicket success over King’s Keys in Hunts Division Three.

Sawtry lost three of their first five batsmen for ducks, but still piled up 248-8 in a Rutland Division Four West game against Kimbolton. Ian Bonsall smacked 111 batting at number six with opener Hayden Bream contributing 74.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Leicestershire first-class player Zac Chappell turned out for his local club Stamford Town in Rutland Division Two and scored 106 to set up a 141-run win over Ramsey. Ahsan Ali Azhar was unbeaten on 80 when Werrington completed a five wicket win over Huntingdon in Division Three.

An unbroken opening stand of 151 between Mohsin Ali (73no) and Jon Dee (66no) in just 16 overs sped Hampton to a 10-wicket Hunts Division One win over Houghton & Wyton.


Z. Manzoor (Ketton Sports) 129

I. Bonsall (Sawtry) 111

J. Ali (Hampton 2nds) *108

Z. Chappell (Stamford Town) 106

E. Ballard (Cambs) *98

D. Clarke (Peterborough Town) 97

R. Keymer (Ufford Park) 96

P. Rowe (Ketton Sports) *90

A. Hussain (Moulton Harrox) 88

D. Iqbal (Peterborough Town 2nds) 86

J. Cafferkey (Ramsey) 85

A. Azhar (Werrington) *80

M. Ingram (Oundle 2nds) 79

S. Rajaguru (March Town) *78

J. Barnett (Moulton Harrox) 77

J. Bowers (Wisbech) 77

T. Bentley (Uffington) 76

H. Bream (Sawtry) 74

M. Ali (Hampton) *73

U. Sadiq (King’s Keys) 73

B. Woodward (Bourne 2nds) 70

M. Zafar (Hampton) *69

B. Smith (Oundle) 69

T. Ahmedzai (Huntingdon) 68

B. Hancock (Burghley Park) 67

J. Smith (Market Deeping) 67

J. Dee (Hampton) *66

J. Temple (Bourne) 66

A. Ali (Nassington) 65

D. Cooper (Newborough) 63

J. Miles (Spalding) 63

R. Sayer (Peterborough Town) 61

J. Evison (Bourne) *60

P. Foster (Oundle) 60

S. Evision (Bourne) *59

R. Suryanarayanan (Adidda) *58

S. Arshad (Barnack) *57

G. Meichan (Orton Park) 56

R. Moden (March Town) 55

G. Freear (Wisbech) 51

J. Newton (Spalding) 51

R. Morris (Orton Park) *50

M. Papworth (Orton Park) *50

*denotes not out


T. Sanderson (Pboro Town 3rds) 6-8

W. Naylor (Long Sutton 2nds) 6-24

J. Wilson (Spalding) 6-25

R. Ewing (Bharat Sports) 6-40

R. Baxter (Bretton) 5-25

Merit table entries are gained by batsmen scoring 50 or more runs in a single innings or by a bowler taking five wickets or more in a single innings. Only one entry per week is permitted. Results must be published in the Peterborough Telegraph.

Related topics: