Hibbert keeps club championship

Jamie Hibbert turned in two steady rounds of golf to retain his Elton Furze club championship crown.

Thursday, 23rd June 2016, 9:33 am
Updated Thursday, 23rd June 2016, 10:37 am
Dominic Ralfs.

His 72 and 71 gave him a six-shot advantage over runner-up Ed Conduit (80 and 69).

Hibbert won the title last year by one shot from Tom Burgh with rounds of 69 and 70, and he also won it in 2009, the year he set a course record 62.


Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Top city golfer Stuart Brown gained his best result of the year so far on the East PGA circuit at the weekend when finishing runner-up in the West Essex Pro-Am at the West Essex Golf Club in London.

The Thorpe Wood professional shot a three-under-par 67, which included birdies at the first, second, sixth, 10th and 16th holes, and finished one shot behind Oliver Fisher.

In the big £15,000 West London Open on the same course which preceeded the pro-am, Brown didn’t do so well. He finished well down the field in 41st place after firing rounds of 72 and 77. The winner with 70 and 68 was European Tour pro Simon Khan.


Dominic Ralfs is on a great run of form at Peterborough Milton.

The two-handicapper won the club’s midweek medal last week with a net 70 and a few days later fired a hole-in-one at the 16th.

And that was a fourth ace for the former Peterborough Town Cricket Club captain.

His others came at the 11th at Milt0n and at Ryston Park and Ruislip.

Peterborough Milton


Milton 6, Ramsey 2 (Milton names first): Robert Lakin/David Longworth beat John Dunham/Alan Weston 3&2; Mike Williamson/Don McFarlane beat Bob Lacey/Peter Ridgeon 1 up; Colin Phillips/Russell Laxton beat Chris Mann/Alan Duke 5&3; Keith Benson/Steve Moule halved with John Bailey/Chris Bateman; Wally Rushton/Terry Locks halved with Peter Topham/Terry Cripps; Keith Worth/Terry Patrick beat Mike King/Brian King 4&2; Terry Moon/Sut Panchi lost to Roger Tacq/Richard Mantle 4&3; Brent Joyce/Ray Field beat Des Winder/Terry Warren 4&2.


Paten Cup (bogey) : 1 Luigi Manganiello level; 2 Sion Lewis 1 down; 3 Joey Hedman 1 down.



Southwell Salver: 1 Elliott Clark net 62; 2 Colin Sherriff net 62; 3 Sam McCall net 62.



Nene Park 5½, Middleton Hall ½ (Nenen Park names only): Peter Cudbertson/Dudley van Kerro won 2&1; John Holoran /Graham Jones won 2 up; Barry Orgill/ Bill Rust won 1 up; Martin Gee/Roger Harris halved; Mike Wilson/John Brown won 6&5; Colin Bagley/Ray Palmer won 3&2.

CAGU Friendly Golf Seniors KO Cup: Nene Park Thorpe Wood 2, Nene Park Orton 1 (Nene Park Orton names first): ) Colin Bagley/Bill Rust lost to Peter Cudbertson/Barry Orgill 2 down; Barry Tyle/Bob Morris lost to John Holoran/Rover Barron 1 down; Bill Hennigan/Tony Jepson beat Martin Gee/Dudley van Kerro 1 up.

June Medal: 1 Mike Wilson net 67; 2 Barry Orgill net 68; 3 David Jones net 69.

Tony Walker Memorial Trophy: 1 David Parker 39pts; 2 Philip Randall 37pts; 3 Alan Bradshaw 37pts.


Nene Park 3½, Rutland County 2½ (Nene Park names only): C. Naylor/A. Maher won 2 up; S. Watson/D. Riley lost 1 down; I. Stilson/G. Geddis halved; S. Chalmers /G. Kaczmarczyk halved; C. Dann/ A. Rozario halved; M. Gee/C. Cox won 3&2.

New Summer League (Orton) Round Three:

1 Nigel Alban 38pts; 2 Michael Marot 38pts; 3 Gerard Evans 37pts.



Club Championship: Club Champion - Jamie Hibbert 72+71 = 143; Runner-up - Ed Conduit 80+69 =149. Net Champion - Mark Oxenham 69+71 = 140; Runner-up - Paul Farrance 72+69=141.

Roll-up Medal: 1 T. Forster 65; 2 M. Nkana 71.

Paul Montier Trophy: 1 M. Tame 72; 2 B. McCandless 72.


Elton Furze 6, Rutland County 0 (Elton Furze names first): S. Dibble/M. Nkana beat A. Milsom/D. Palmer 3&1; C. Rudkin/R. Wentworth beat K. Palmer/P. Milsom 5&3; B. Stone/S. Kerton beat B. Cheshire/J. Cobb 5&4; J. Elliott/D. Tansley beat P. Drury/J. Cole 3&1; O. Wentworth/D. Burns beat G. Cole/A. Riches 3&2; H. Bayliss/P. Bolden beat B. Ambrose/J. Cheshire 5&4.


Dot Chalmers Championship: 1 A. Turner 39pts; 2 R. Watts 34 pts.

Maplestone Bowl: 1 P. Reynolds 69; 2 P. Tattersall 71.