Peterborough elects its new Youth MP

Peterborough's new Youth MP has been named

Thursday, 2nd March 2017, 12:24 pm
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 11:06 am
New Youth MP Ayesha Khan and deputy Matthew Sismore

Ayesha Khan from The King’s School and deputy Matthew Sismore were announced at the Town Hall on Tuesday’s election night after a tightly fought contest by five candidates in which 30 per cent of the city’s young people voted.

The 5,008 votes cast were a 708 increase on last year’s figure.

Ayesha said: “I am very excited to be taking on the role of Youth MP for Peterborough and would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I can’t wait for the opportunities this role will give me and the chance to represent Peterborough’s young people at a national level.”

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ayesha will represent Peterborough on the UK Youth Parliament as well as working closely with the Peterborough Youth Council on local campaigning.

Alongside deputy Matthew, from Voyager Academy, one of the first dates in their diary is a youth voice leadership development programme in April.

Young people voted from Voyager, King’s, Hampton College, Thomas Deacon Academy, St John Fisher, Jack Hunt, The Peterborough School and Ormiston Bushfield Academy - with the results as follows:

Beth Adcock (OBA) - 1,858

Edwin Flack (Kings) - 1,876

Ayesha Khan (Kings) - 2,159

Matthew Sismore (Voyager) - 2,005

Afifa Zaman (SJF) - 1,782

In order to make the election as democratic as possible, a block voting system was used, in which young people vote for their top two candidates.