Peterborough council election details revealed

Local elections are being held in Peterborough on Thursday, May 6.

Monday, 29th March 2021, 4:03 pm

It has today (Monday) been confirmed that voting will take place for the election of 23 city councillors (out of 60 seats) in the following wards: Barnack, Bretton, Central, Dogsthorpe East, Eye, Thorney & Newborough, Fletton & Stanground, Fletton & Woodston (2 seats), Glinton & Castor, Gunthorpe, Hampton Vale, Hargate & Hempsted, North, Orton Longueville, Orton Waterville, Park, Paston & Walton, Ravensthorpe, Stanground South, Werrington, West and Wittering.

Parish council elections will also be held in the following parish wards: Bainton, Barnack, East, Goldhay East, Hampton Hargate, Hampton Vale, Helpston, North-East, Orton Longueville, Orton Waterville, Southorpe, St Martin’s Without, Thorney (by-election), Ufford and Wothorpe.

A referendum will also take place on the Neighbourhood Plan for Glinton on the same day.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Elections are coming up

By Tuesday, April 27 the Notice of Poll will be published confirming candidate nominations, election agents and the statements of those persons nominated. This information will be available through the council’s website.

The deadline to register to vote is Monday, April 19. Registration can be done quickly at Alternatively, you can call the council’s electoral services team on 01733 452249 or email [email protected]

The deadline to apply for a postal vote, or to amend an existing one, is 5pm on Tuesday, April 20. To apply for a postal vote, you must first be registered to vote.

The deadline to apply for a new proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday, April 27. This is where a voter nominates a trusted person to cast a vote on their behalf. Again, you must first be registered to vote.

Legislation has also been introduced to support people affected by Covid-19 right up to polling day by allowing them to apply for an emergency proxy vote up to 5pm on polling day itself.

Applications for postal and proxy votes should be made to the council’s electoral services team.

On polling day, polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. Polling station information is included on polling cards and also available from the council’s website.

The election results will be declared on the following day - Friday, May 7.

For more information visit:

The notices of election can be viewed at: