WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS: Fox and Neill named in GB squad

Two Peterborough oarsmen have today (August 10) been named in the Great Britain team to compete at the World Rowing Championships in Sarasota-Bradenton, Florida, between September 24 and October 1.

Thursday, 10th August 2017, 12:43 pm
Updated Tuesday, 12th September 2017, 12:23 pm
James Fox wins gold in Rio.

Former Jack Hunt School pupil James Fox, a gold medallist at the Rio Paralympics, is in the PR3 mixed coxed four (PR3 Mix4+) while Adam Neill, who attended King’s School, is in the eight.

Both were members of Peterborough City Rowing Club.

GB crews selected

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Adam Neill.

Men’s squad


Tom Jeffery (Club: Leander Club/Hometown: Plymouth)

Tom George (Leander Club/Oxford)

Adam Neill.

Coach: Rob Dauncey

Coxed pair

Tim Clarke (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)

Tom Ford (Leander Club/Holmes Chapel)

Harry Brightmore (cox) (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Chester)

Coach: Rob Dauncey

Lightweight pair

Joel Cassells (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)

Sam Scrimgeour (Molesey BC/Kirriemuir)

Coaches: Rob Dauncey/Dan Moore


Matt Rossiter (Leander Club/Newbury)

Moe Sbihi (Molesey BC/Surbiton)

Mat Tarrant (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Shepperton)

Will Satch (Leander Club/Henley-on-Thames)

Coach: Jurgen Grobler


Ollie Cook (Oxford Univ. BC/Windsor)

Callum McBrierty (Leander Club/Edinburgh)

Jacob Dawson (Leander Club/Plymouth)

Adam Neill (Leander Club/Peterborough)

Tom Ransley (Leander Club/Ashford, Kent)

Alan Sinclair (Leander Club/Inverness)

James Rudkin (Newcastle Univ. BC/Litchborough)

Lance Tredell (Cambridge Univ. BC/Altrincham)

Henry Fieldman (cox) (Molesey BC/London)

Coach: Christian Felkel

Single scull

Tom Barras (Leander Club/Staines)

Coach: Paul Stannard

Lightweight double scull

Sam Mottram (Leander Club/Stoke Mandeville)

Jamie Copus (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Watlington)

Coach: Hamish Burrell

Quadruple scull

Jack Beaumont (Leander Club/Maidenhead)

Jonny Walton (Leander Club/Leicester)

John Collins (Leander Club/Twickenham)

Peter Lambert (Leander Club/Maidenhead)

Coach: Paul Stannard

Lightweight quadruple scull

Gavin Horsburgh (Edinburgh Univ. BC/Lochwinnoch)

Peter Chambers (Oxford Brookes Univ. BC/Coleraine)

Ed Fisher (Leander Club/Nottingham)

Zak Lee-Green (Agecroft/Cardiff)

Coach: Dan Moore

Men’s reserves

Frazier Christie (Leander Club/Bath)

Cameron Buchan (Leander Club/Dunipace)

Oliver Wynne-Griffith (Leander Club/Guildford)

Women’s squad


Holly Hill (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC/Gossington)

Melissa Wilson (Cambridge Univ. Women’s BC/Edinburgh)

Coaches: Paul Thompson/James Harris


Anastasia Chitty (Leander Club/Oxford)

Rebecca Chin (Agecroft/Deganwy)

Fiona Gammond (Leander Club/Bicester)

Katherine Douglas (Leander Club/Edinburgh)

Josephine Wratten (Leander Club/Middlesbrough)

Holly Norton (Leander Club/Johannesburg)

Karen Bennett (Leander Club/Edinburgh)

Rebecca Shorten (Imperial College BC/Belfast)

Matilda Horn (cox) (Univ. of London BC/Windsor)

Coaches: James Harris/Paul Thompson

Single scull

Victoria Thornley (Leander Club/Wrexham)

Coach: Paul Reedy

Lightweight double scull

Katherine Copeland (Leander Club/Ingleby Barwick)

Emily Craig (Univ. of London BC/Mark Cross)

Coach: Darren Whiter

Quadruple scull

Beth Bryan (Leander Club/Stockton-on-Tees)

Mathilda Hodgkins-Byrne (Reading RC/Hereford)

Holly Nixon (Leander Club/Enniskillen)

Fourth rower to be confirmed

Coaches: Paul Thompson/James Harris

Lightweight quadruple scull

Maddie Arlett (Edinburgh Univ. BC/Selkirk)

Robyn Hart-Winks (Univ. of London BC/Kirriemuir)

Eleanor Piggott (Wallingford RC/Bedford)

Gemma Hall (Wallingford RC/Wargrave)

Coach: Ben Reed

Women’s reserves

Alice Baatz (Agecroft/Winchester)

Georgia Francis (Imperial College BC/Newbury)

Ellie Lewis (Agecroft/Marlow)

Para-rowing squad

PR1 single scull

Andy Houghton (Maidenhead RC/Newbury)

Coach: Tom Dyson

PR3 mixed coxed four

Oliver Stanhope (Molesey BC/Hampton)

Grace Clough (Nottingham RC/Sheffield)

Giedre Rakauskaite (Worcester RC/Worcester)

James Fox (Univ. of London BC/Peterborough)

Anna Corderoy (cox) (Molesey BC/Stroud)

Coach: Nick Baker