Swimming - it’s hooray Henry as young Pearce grabs three golds

Henry Pearce and Jessica Mahoney were COPS top swimmers at the Tulip Open meet.
Henry Pearce and Jessica Mahoney were COPS top swimmers at the Tulip Open meet.
Have your say

Henry Pearce was head boy for City of Peterborough Swimming Club (COPS) at the Tulip Open meet.

The 12 year-old was in fine form as he won gold medals in the 100m freestyle, 100m butterfly and 100m individual medley and also a bronze medal in the 100m breaststroke, making him the top boy in his age group.

COPS swimmers celebrate their Mini Gala success.

COPS swimmers celebrate their Mini Gala success.

And rounding off a superb day’s work, Pearce was also a member of the victorious mixed 12yrs and under relay team along with George Whiteman, Charlotte Restaino and Poppy Ludgate.

COPS won seven gold medals altogether with nine year-old Jessica Mahoney topping the podium twice - in the 50m breaststroke and 50m backstroke - and Bethan Endicott (9) winning the 50m butterfly with a big personal best time. Endicott also won a bronze medal in the 50m backstroke.

COPS other medal winners were: Joshua Cassidy (16) – bronze 100m back, 100m breaststroke; Poppy Ludgate (12) – silver 100m breaststroke; Yasir Naimi (14) – silver 100m backstroke; Toby Norman (9) – silver 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke, bronze 50m fly; William Steel (13) – bronze 100m fly, 100m backstroke; Madeline Todd (10) – silver 100m freestyle.

Also swimming for COPS at the Tulip Open were: Caitlin Bassendine-Matthews (11), Olivia Bearman-Skipworth (9), Briony Burmby (11), Eleanor Byrne (9), Georgina Chappell (12), Eduards Cielava (11), Harriet Coulson (13), Joel Coulson (10), Matthew Cussell (13), Thomas Cussell (15), Connie Denman (13), Erica Denman (14), Megan Denman (10), Sophie Galjaard (11),Hannah Gregory (9), Lydia Howe (11), Isabel Ilett (10), Jake Lawless (12), Kirsten Loutit (10), Rhiannon Loutit (13), Joshua Martin (9), Kaitlin Norman (14), Amy Paget (9), Albert Papworth (9), Bethany Pratt (13), Chloe Pratt (16), Chloe Read (11), Charlotte Restaino (12), Neave Sauer (14), Stanley Scarborough (9), Joshua Smith (9), Joshua Spencer (10), Millie Steel (11), Kieran Underwood (9), Connor Walker (11), George Whiteman (10), Isobel York-Forward (10).

COPS have set up an invitation team competition against other local clubs to give their youngest swimmers experience of the competition environment.

The result of their latest Mini Gala was: COPS Blue 129pts; First Strokes 142 pts; St Ives 138pts; COPS Yellow 196pts; March 132pts; Chatteris 78pts.

COPS Blue winners: Akshath Nambala (9), Chloe Reed, Dominic Restaino, Eleanor Byrne, Mia Karagholi (8), Lydia Howe, Jamila Ourty (10).

COPS Yellow winners: Ruby Blakeley (8), Kieran Underwood, Joshua Spencer, Lewis Flower (10), Briony Burmby, Oskar Rajski, Chloe Elliot (10), Erivan Hamid (10).