Connor stars for COPS in Fenland Junior League match

Ella McGhie smashed her personal best.
Ella McGhie smashed her personal best.
Have your say

City of Peterborough Swimming Club (COPS) youngsters turned in some impressive performances in the opening Fenland Junior League fixtures of 2015.

The A team were in action in a gala at Boston while the B team were swimming at Whittlesey and in both they finished runners-up.

Final placings were:

Boston: 1 Boston 186pts; 2 COPS A 170pts; 3 Chatteris 121pts; 4 West Norfolk 106pts; 5 St Neots Swans 70pts.

Whittlesey: 1 Wisbech 172pts; 2 COPS B 162pts; 3 Thetford 132pts; 4 First Strokes 116pts; 5 March 76pts.

Connor Walker, aged 11, was one of the the youngsters to catch the eye at Whittlesey.

He turned in a superb performance in the Under 11 50m freestyle, winning in a rapid 36.45 and beating his personal best (PB) by three seconds.

He also went on to win the 50m backstroke as well.

Another COPS B team swimmer to smash her PB was Ella McGhie. She took five seconds off her best time for the Under 12 4x25m individual medley when touching first in 1.24.25.

Charlotte Restaino shaved two seconds off her PB in the Under 13 4x25m individual medley when winning in 1.23.37.

In all COPS B gained 12 first places.

Leading the way with a hat-trick of wins was Harriet Salisbury. She won the Under 11 50m butterfly, 50m backstroke and 50m breaststroke.

Charlotte Martin (Under 13 50m backstroke and 50m freestyle) won both her races, as did Matt Newson (Under 13 50m backstroke and 50m breaststroke).

Nine year-olds Kerian Griffin, Ella Normington, Mia Turvey and Jamie Peacock all did well in their first competitive swims for the club.

In the A team match at Boston, Joshua Martin and Brenna Howell were the stars of the show with a hat-trick of wins each.

Martin touched first in the Under 9 50m freestyle in 44.64, the 50m backstroke in 52.13 and the 50m breaststroke in 54.90.

Howell won the Under 12 50m freestyle in 33.64, the 50m backstroke in 37.92 and the 4x25m individual medley in 1.23.72.

Lauren Browne, Oliver Brown and Georgie Chappell were all double winners while others to hit a winning note were Holly Graves, Amy Paget, Toby Norman, Jack Brown, Bert Papworth, Olivia Bearman-Skipworth and Mille Ryan.