Speedway - Panthers pair chasing British Championship glory

Ollie Greenwood (right) is in British Under 21 Championshoip action tonight.
Ollie Greenwood (right) is in British Under 21 Championshoip action tonight.
Have your say

Two Peterborough riders go in search of national glory tonight (April 14).

Readypower Panthers aces Robert Lambert and Ollie Greenwood both line-up in the British Under 21 Championship Final at Coventry (7.30pm).

Lambert will be one of the hot favourites for glory after a terrific start to the campaign, but he will not put himself under any pressure.

He said: “It will be a tough night and it should be an exciting one as well.

“My first target is to make it to the semi-final or final and then see what happens.

“I would obviously love to end the night on top of the podium, but there is no pressure on me at all.

“I’ve got plenty of opportunities if it doesn’t happen tonight.”

Greenwood, who was also seeded straight into the final, is the reigning British Under 19 champion and would love to add another coveted title to his collection.

And, while he has struggled for early-season form, his knowledge of the Brandon track could work in his favour. Greenwood rode for the Coventry Storm at National League level for two seasons.

He said: “It would be nice to take the next step and be Under 21 champion after winning the Under 19 title last season.

“It has been a tough start to the season. I just need to find a bit of consistency and then I’ll hopefully be off and running.

“Coventry is a track I know well and like. It was always a bit rough and bumpy when I was there, but I’ve heard it is riding a lot better this year.”

Lambert and Greenwood are joined in the field at Coventry by Danny Phillips – the first rider to become an asset of the new Peterborough promotion.

Final draw: 1 Robert Lambert, 2 Danny Phillips, 3 James Shanes, 4 Oliver Greenwood, 5 Kyle Howarth, 6 Marc Owen, 7 Ashley Morris, 8 Josh Bailey, 9 Max Clegg, 10 Josh Bates, 11 Ryan Terry-Daley, 12 Stefan Nielsen, 13 Adam Ellis, 14 Ben Morley, 15 Connor Coles, 16 Tom Stokes. Reserves: 17 Connor Mountain, 18 Danno Verge.