SNOOKER: Perry faces Wilson in World Championship

Chatteris cueman Joe Perry will meet qualifier Kyren Wilson in the first round of the Betfred World Championship, which starts on Saturday.

Thursday, 14th April 2016, 10:56 am
Updated Thursday, 14th April 2016, 10:58 am
Joe Perry stars his World Championship bid on Wednesday (April 20).

Perry (41), is ranked 10th in the world while Wilson, aged 24, is ranked 53rd. The game will start on Wednesday (April 20) at 7pm.

Shanghai Masters champion Wilson secured his place in the first round with a 10-6 defeat of Matthew Stevens in the final qualfying round yesterday (April 13).

He will be making his second Crucible appearance, having lost to Ricky Walden on his debut two years ago.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“I can’t wait to put in a better performance this time,” said Wilson. “It feels as if I was a boy two years ago and I have turned into a man since then.”

Ronnie O’Sullivan will launch his bid for a sixth world championship title against Tamworth’s David Gilbert, a former potato farmer who secured his place in the main draw for Sheffield with victory over Jack Lisowski in the final qualifying round.

O’Sullivan (40) is the favourite for the Crucible title, having already triumphed at the Masters and Welsh Open this year.

Their clash will start on Sunday.

Defending champion Stuart Bingham begins his challenge on Saturday with a tough opener against two-time beaten finalist Ali Carter.

Other highlights of the first-round draw include the all-Scottish clash of Stephen Maguire and Alan McManus, Judd Trump’s match against Liang Wenbo and a repeat of last year’s quarter-final between Shaun Murphy and Anthony McGill.

The only debutant in this year’s tournament, Birmingham’s Mitchell Mann, will play former semi-finalist Mark Allen.

The draw for the final stages of the Betfred World Championship took place today:

Stuart Bingham v Ali Carter

Stephen Maguire v Alan McManus

Ricky Walden v Robbie Williams

John Higgins v Ryan Day

Judd Trump v Liang Wenbo

Martin Gould v Ding Junhui

Mark Williams v Graeme Dott

Neil Robertson v Michael Holt

Shaun Murphy v Anthony McGill

Marco Fu v Peter Ebdon

Barry Hawkins v Zhang Anda

Ronnie O’Sullivan v David Gilbert

Mark Allen v Mitchell Mann

Joe Perry v Kyren Wilson

Michael White v Sam Baird

Mark Selby v Robert Milkins