RECORD BREAKERS: Longlands smashes club best by over eight minutes, Burrill breaks a 34-year-old record

City-based cyclists were in record-breaking form at the ECCA 50-mile time trial held in the Six Mile Bottom area.

Thursday, 19th May 2016, 8:49 am
Updated Thursday, 19th May 2016, 10:01 am
James Gelsthorpe and Jason Burrill.

Fenland Clarion Club’s Dave Langlands finished second in the event in 1.41.14, a staggering eight minutes better than the club’s previous best time at the distance of 1.49.57 set by Paul Lilley in 2008.

Paul Lunn also bettered the old mark by finishing in 1.47.05.

And Peterborough Cycling Club’s Jason Burrill, in only his second attempt at the distance, stormed round in a time of 1.48.32.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

That was quick enough to beat the club record for the distance, which had stood since 1982, by over two minutes.

In the Wisbech 25 mile event Fenland Clarion’s Lindsay Clarke finished as second lady with her time of 1.04.20, while John Royle recorded 1.04.28 and Steve Clarke 1.05.50.

An off-road time trial run by the Kings Lynn club around Shouldham Warren provided Cameron Neilson with a first-placed youth rider finish with his time of 33.59. Dad Victor completed the six mile course in 36.26.

The local inter-club Hereward League started with the Peterborough CC hosting the opening round around the Helpston circuit.

Simon Pitchford was the first Clarion rider home in 23.31. Other club times were: Jerry Norman 24.22, Lynden Leadbeater 24.54, Malc Jacklin 25.17, Phil Merritt 27.20, Mia Purnell 28.45, Andy Goodsell 29.11 & Ben Farrow 31.46.

The Peterborough CC open 10 mile event had just five Fenland Clarion riders taking part with Simon Pitchford the first one home in 23.17. Sean Beard 24.47, Phil Merritt 26.17, John Royle 26.52 and Hasnain Dhanji 31.14 also took part.

James Gelsthorpe and Mark Bleakley were Peterborough Cycling Club’s other big recent winners.

Gelsthorpe won the Alston Country Homes open 10 on the old A1 Sawtry course in a time of 21.38.

He was 10 seconds clear of runner-up Mick Hodson from St Ives with Peterborough’s Malcolm Smith third. Claire Steels was first lady in 25.09.

Bleakley won the latest Hereward Series race at Helpston in 23.15. Bleakley finished first of 48 riders with team-mate Nick Hitchin coming home sixth ion 24.09 despite feeling unwell.

Andy Gough of Bourne Wheelers finished second.