PT Sports Awards 2014: See the top three in each category

The 2014 Peterborough Telegraph Sports Awards - celebrating local sporting achievements
The 2014 Peterborough Telegraph Sports Awards - celebrating local sporting achievements
Have your say

Once again martial arts will be getting a big kick out of the Peterborough Telegraph Sports Awards.

After all the excitement of a month of voting, the city’s outstanding crop of kick-boxers have fought their way into the top three of several categories.

Last year they had finalists in six of the 10 categories - and it’s the same again this year.

And two of them - Freya Molloy and Andy Whitwell - will be defending their titles.

Whitwell is chief instructor at the Peterborough BCKA kick-boxing club and he’s again made the top three in the Coach of the Year section along with City of Peterborough Swimming Club’s Ben Negus and top goalkeeping coach Kevin Oldham.

Whitwell will be joined on presentation night at the Cresset on Friday, 30 January by five of his students.

Two of them Molloy and Jaden Harris, who are both world champions, will be fighting it out for the Junior Sportswoman of the Year prize along with promising young Peterborough Athletic Club all-rounder Harriet Fenton.

Leon Gold, another Peterborough BCKA student who won medals at the World Championships, received plenty of votes in the Sportsman of the Year category and he’s joined in the top three by yet another kick-boxer in the shape of Kevin Buckley, a world champion from the Peterborough Freestyle Club.

Matt Skelhon, the Team GB shooting star of both the 2008 Beijing and 2012 London Paralympics and a World Championship winner in 2014, completes the Sportsman of the Year line-up.

Eddy Paddock is another Peterborough BCKA finalist. He finished runner-up 12 months ago in the Junior Sportsman of the Year category and will be hoping to go one better this time after claiming four British titles in 2014 and three silver medals at the World Championships.

Joining him in the top three are golfer Sanjay Nithiyalingam and cricketer David Sayer. Both earned international call-ups in 2014.

Rounding off what could be a memorable night for Peterborough BCKA, they also figure in the Team of the Year final alongside the all-conquering Peterborough Lions Rugby Club and Peterborough Town Cricket Club.

Gaynor Morgan is another kick-boxer to make the top three. The world champion from the Hicks Karate School will be looking to win the Sportswoman of the Year prize she won two years ago and is up against national swimming champion Chloe Hannam and national bowls champion Linda Darani.

Cricket provides two of the finalists for the top award of Sports Personality of the Year. They are Peterborough Town’s bright young captain Lewis Bruce and Ketton Cricket Club skipper Rob Vitas. Completing the line-up is world bowls champion Nicky Brett.

Former Posh ace Grant McCann’s son Bayley is in the running for the Junior Footballer of the Year prize along with Emma Pollard from Netherton United Girls and Josh Ford from the One Touch Under 11s.

Top three in Footballer of the Year are all non-league players - Avelino Vieira and Jordan MacLeod from Peterborough Northern Star and Dan Cotton from Yaxley.

Top three in the Unsung Hero category includes the nine-strong Phantoms Ice Hockey Club’s Learn to Play group. They spend all their spare time recruiting seven year-olds.

Robert Windle, who works wonders for local football referees, is also a finalist along with hard-working Peterborough Town Cricket Club chairman Brian Howard.

A grateful thanks to all our Sports Awards sponsors.

How the 2014 Peterborough Telegraph Sports Awards votes came in:


- TOP THREE: Nicky Brett, Lewis Bruce, Robin Vitas.

Others to receive votes: Martin Adams, Jade Etherington, Darren Ferguson, Jeff Lucas, Darragh MacAnthony, Paul McMahon, Cello Renda.


- TOP THREE: Peterborough Town Cricket Club, Peterborough Lions Rugby Club, Peterborough BCKA.

Near-misses: Borough Ladies Rugby, City of Peterborough Swimming Club, Feeder Soccer Under 10s.

Others to receive votes: City of Peterborough Bowls Club, Deeping Rangers Under 13s, Hampton Girls Under 16s, Hicks Karate School, Malborne Under 15s, Nene Valley Harriers Men, Oundle Rugby Club, PACTRAC, Peterborough Regional College Rugby, Phantoms Under 10s, Pinchbeck Under 14s, Posh, Posh Youths, Riverside Ladies Under 18s, Thorney FC, Tom Nash and Thomas Marshall.


- TOP THREE: Kevin Buckley, Leon Gold, Matt Skelhon.

Near-misses: Rob Sayer, Joe Dawborn.

Others to receive votes: Kyle Findley, Nicky Brett, Anthony Brown, Grant Brown, Lewis Bruce, James Fox, Lewis Hook, Chris Humphrey, Jeff Lucas, Paul McMahon, Matthew Powell, Tariq Quaddus, Callum Titmus.


- TOP THREE: Linda Darani, Chloe Hannam, Gaynor Morgan.

Others to receive votes: Ella De Lucis, Suzanne Dickens, Charlotte Edwards, Jade Etherington, Wendy Gooding, Atlanta Hickman, Lianne Jones, Simi Pam, Lauren Steadman, Ann Wood.


- TOP THREE: Sanjay Nithiyalingam, David Sayer, Eddy Paddock.

Near-misses: Dino Lee, Daniel Mees, Jerry Norman, Jake Peppercorn.

Others to receive votes: Isaac Huskisson, George Russell, Jamie Scholes, Robin Tiger Williams.


- TOP THREE: Harriet Fenton, Freya Molloy, Jaden Harris.

Near-misses: Mia Purnell, Lydia Church, Elizabeth Carter, Rachel Wellings.

Others to receive votes: Tierney Augustine, Holly Brown, Katie Brown, Christie Woods.


- TOP THREE: Dan Cotton, Avelino Vieira, Jordan MacLeod.

Near-miss: Lewis Leckie.

Others to receive votes: Britt Assombalonga, George Boyd, Dan Clements, Rhys Howden, Josh Moreman, Gaby Zakuani.


- TOP THREE: Josh Ford, Emma Pollard, Bayley McCann.

Near-misses: Mason Clarke, Tapiwanashe Shahwe, Joe Cole.

Others to receive votes: Cameron Baldock-Smith, Leo Da Silva Lopes, Alfie Ferguson, Zach Findley, Thomas Green, Finley Morris, James Pam, Nathan Pickering, Liam Scales, Tinashe Manyumba.


- TOP THREE: Andy Whitwell, Ben Negus, Kevin Oldham.

Others to receive votes: Lee Adamson, Lewis Capes, John Carver, Ron Cave, Tim Cook, Andrew Hicks, Lianne Jones, Slava Koulikov, Andy Stubbs, Mike Yeoman.


- TOP THREE: Phantoms Learn to Play Group, Robert Windle, Brian Howard.

Near-miss: Dino Lee.

Others to receive votes: Ian Bardrick, Ray Church, Peter Croot, Matthew Dalton, Keith Hall, Brian Hawes, David Holmes, Martin Hobbs, Fred Johnson, Mike Marjoram, Tim Needham, Russ Prosser.