PREVIEW: Hat-trick bids in county finals

Five players will be bidding for title hat-tricks at the Northants Bowling Federation finals at Parkway tomorrow (July 23, from 10am start).

Saturday, 22nd July 2017, 11:00 am
Updated Tuesday, 12th September 2017, 12:05 pm
Shirley Suffling.

Ketton’s Shirley Suffling goes in the senior singles, mixed pairs and ladies pairs, the latter with club-mate Chris Ford, who also has both main singles titles in her sights – two-bowl and four-bowl.

Parkway’s Neil Wright bids for glory in the two-bowl singles and pairs, with Howard Shipp, and teams up with Sarah Newson in the mixed pairs, where they meet the defending champions, Chris Morton and Simon Law, also from Parkway.

Adam Warrington (Blackstones) chases two singles titles and joins Jonathan Earl and Martyn Dolby in the two-bowl triples.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Stephen Harris (Blackstones) defends both the under 25 singles and pairs titles; Malcolm Squires (City of Peterborough) hopes to retain the men’s secretary singles; the Newson family – Jeff, Val and daughter Sarah put their mixed triples title on the line, while Linda Darani defends the women’s secretary singles.

The winners will represent the county at next month’s national finals at Skegness.



Women’s 2b singles: Norma Squires (City of Peterborough) v Chris Ford (Ketton); Mixed pairs: Sarah Newson & Neil Wright (Parkway) v Chris Morton & Simon Law (Parkway); Men’s Champion of Champions: Dave Corney (Peterborough & District) v Adam Warrington (Blackstones); Women’s senior singles: Shirley Suffling (Ketton) v Julie Masters (Parkway); Men’s 4b singles: Sean Fenlon (Westward) v Mick Duell (Westward); Women’s secretary singles: Linda Darani (City of Peterborough) v Kathy Browning (Yaxley).

12 noon

Women’s senior pairs: Pat Collicott & Pearl O’Brien (Deeping) v Viv Hempsall & Kathy Browning (Yaxley); Women’s U25 singles: Katy Bailey (Blackstones) v Louise Harris (Blackstones). Men’s pairs: Howard Shipp & Neil Wright (Parkway) v Graham Agger & Peter Brown (Whittlesey Manor); Mixed triples: Sarah, Val & Jeff Newson (Parkway) v Joan Robinson, Ian Flack, Les Sharp (Yaxley); Men’s veterans singles: Tony Kemp (Conservative) v Martyn Dolby (Blackstones); Senior mixed pairs: Shirley Suffling (Ketton) & Paul Buckley (Blackstones) v Anne & Peter White (Langtoft Pearl).


Men’s 2b singles: Neil Wright (Parkway) v Adam Warrington (Blackstones); Women’s Champion of Champions: Linda Darani (City of Peterborough) v Penny Hart (Whittlesey Town); Women’s 2b singles: Julie Masters (Parkway) v Chris Ford (Ketton); Men’s secretary singles: Mike Ramsden (Vanguard) v Malcolm Squires (City of Peterborough); Under 25 open pairs: Jack Corney & Zack Brown (Whittlesey Manor) v Helen Holroyd (Stamford) & Stephen Harris (Blackstones); Men’s 3b triples: Howard Shipp, Brian Martin, Joe Randall (Parkway) v Stuart Reynolds, James Harford, Mike Robertson (Parkway).


Men’s U25 singles: Stephen Harris (Blackstones) v Josh Clark (Parkway); Women’s 2b triples: Katy Bailey, Rita Downs, Sharon Bailey (Blackstones) v Fiona Richardson, Jessica Phillips, Norma Squires (City of Peterborough); Women’s 3b triples: Stella Dale, Viv Hempsall, Kathy Browning (Yaxley) v Pam Plowman, Elizabeth Wallace, Glenys Edwards (Ketton); Men’s 2b triples: Adam Warrington, Jonathan Earl, Martyn Dolby (Blackstones) v Steve Lander, Steve Roden, Peter Brown (Whittlesey Manor); Women’s pairs: Shirley Suffling & Chris Ford (Ketton) v Moira Osborne & Joan Robinson (Yaxley); Men’s senior pairs: Robert Heath & Tony Belson (Yaxley) v Jeff Clipston & Wilf Redhead (Peterborough & District).


Dan Duffy Trophy final: Blackstones v Parkway