National cycling gold medal for ‘First Lady’ Lyndsay

Fenland Clarion Club’s ‘First Lady’ Lindsay Clarke has a long history of winning events over a range of cycling disciplines from cyclocross, track, road and time trial, but she has always found winning a national CTT medal for winning a national time trial event to be elusive.

Friday, 4th September 2020, 10:56 am
Lyndsay Clarke on her way to a National cycling gold medal.

However on Sunday in the National 10-mile Championship held on the Hungerford based H10/3R course along the A4 she finally managed to correct this omission with a victory and claim her national medal with a winning time of 24:01.

Clarke was 44th overall, but first in her veterans category.

*Fenland Clarion held their club 10-mile time trial on the Bainton to Bretton circuit and it was Paul Lunn once again victorious in a time of 22:17.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Another strong showing from Jonny Hynes gave him second place in a time of 23:13 with Simon Pitchford in third after clocking 23:21.

It was over a minute back to fourth placed David Thorald who finished in 24.38.

Other times: Chris Shaw 25:05, Stewart Cleworth 25:24, Brain Seward 25:49, Michael Stegeman 26:15, David Hallam 26:25, Tonya Smith 27:16, Steve Clarke 27:21, Ian Aunger 27:34, Evander Wishart 28:16, Harry Tozer 29:19, Debs Bellamy 31:17, Dan Tozer 32:32, Annette Wyld 33:02.