Northants at home to Hunts

Both Northants Bowling Federation indoor county teams are in action on Sunday morning, with the A team squaring up to last year's southern section winners Hunts at Stamford.

Thursday, 30th November 2017, 8:15 am
Updated Wednesday, 6th December 2017, 12:49 pm
Tristan Morton.

Having taken 11 points from the 14 available against their own newly-formed B team, the A squad will be hoping to make home advantage tell to lay down a marker in their bid to reach the Derbyshire Trophy final for only the third time.

The teams shared the points at Huntingdon last season, but Hunts went on to qualify for the national final at Newark, where they were beaten by Durham, the city team finishing runners-up in the group.

Team captain James Harford is hoping Tristan Morton will be fit to play his first match of the season following a football injury, as he will be up against some of his club colleagues at Huntingdon.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He qualifies to play indoors for Northants as he is registered outdoors with the Parkway club, and the same applies to fellow squad members Howard Shipp and Brian Martin, who also play their indoor bowls at Huntingdon.

The B team, who have suffered narrow defeats in their opening two matches against their A team (two shots) and Norfolk (ten shots), host Lincolnshire at Peterborough & District, with captain Malcolm Squires bringing in Mick Greaves and Brian Bassam to replace Les Sharp and Mike Ramsden.

Northants A (from): Paul Dalliday, Howard Shipp, Brian Martin, Neil Wright, Stephen Harris, Phil Afford, James Harford, Simon Law, Bob Warters, Martyn Dolby, Adam Warrington, Tristan Morton, Roger Martin, Tony Scarr.

Northants B (in rinks): Brian Bassam, Mick Greaves Rod Maplethorpe; Steve Roden, Graham Agger, Mick Linnell; Cliff Watson, Dick Noble, Peter Brown; Mike Humphreys, Jon Earl, John Holroyd.

n The Peterborough & District senior men’s team made it five wins in seven matches in the Cambs League with a comfortable 86-50 victory over St Neots B to collect the maximum ten points.

However, the city team have plenty of work ahead of them if they are to retain the title, as they are currently in sixth place and 16 points behind early pacesetters St Neots A.


Peterborough 86 (10), St Neots B 50 (0) – (Peterborough rinks only):

Dick Overson, Jeff Clipston, Mick Greaves, Rod Maplethorpe won 26-9.

Les Sharp, Steve Johnson, Phil Afford, Mick Linnell won 21-13.

Mick Fuller, John Barker, Terry English, Dick Noble won 21-14.

Dave Smith, Don Paul, Ean Eagle, Ray Keating won 18-14.

n The Peterborough Bowls League annual general meeting takes place at the Peterborough & District club next Thursday starting at 7.30pm.