Nene Valley youngsters were shining as bright as the sun

Nene Valley Harriers' youngsters recorded a fine Eastern Young Athletes League victory at a sun-kissed Embankment Arena on Sunday.

Thursday, 9th June 2016, 9:24 am
Updated Monday, 13th June 2016, 12:01 pm
Paula Naylor won the Under 17 1500m.

The meeting featured the usual high quota of stellar performances by Russ Prosser’s enthusiastic and talented squad but consistency of performance won the day, with the city-based club finishing in the top three in all six age groups of the seven-team contest.

The Under 13 boys were winners in their age group, and as usual the throwers made a major contribution. George Harrison won the shot and javelin, while Adam Squires picked up B string victories in the discus and shot - just missing out on a clean sweep when finishing second in the javelin.

Freddie Fraser finished first in the 100m and 75m hurdles, and Tim Foord was victorious in the B 100m and 200m.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Samantha Muchina won the Under 15 100m and 200m.

The consistent Sam Oakley won the 1500m in 5:02.2 and Ben Peters, Josph Reindel and Theo Briston were first in the B string 75m hurdles, high jump and long jump.

Nene Valley’s Under 17 girls also topped the table, with their sprinters making a major contribution.

Kelsi Ellis won the 300m as well as the B 200m, with Jasmine Allen first in the B 100m. Allen also won the long jump.

Middle distance runners Paula Naylor and Ellie Piccaver crossed the line first in the B 800m and 1500m.

Amber Park won the Under 15 300m.

Star thrower Tierney Augustine threw furthest in the shot and discus, and Priscilla Dadziea took the B shot honours. Lydia Church won the B discus with Rosie Fresen first in the pole vault.

Josie Downer was in outstanding form for the Under 13 girls, placing first in the 100m and long jump, while Alicja Gawronski won the B 200m.

Flo Brill and Elisha Foord made it a clean sweep in the 1500m.

At Under 15 level, Amber Park won the 300m in 44.5 and middle distance ace Ella Robinson was first in the B 800m, as was Hana Ray in the B 1500m.

Elizabeth Taylor broke a Peterborough Athletic Club record.

Jess Edwards also performed well with a B javelin victory.

Jack Roffe won the boys Under 15 shot and Callum Robertson claimed a double first in the B shot and discus.

Other Nene Valley winners were B string athletes Harry Smith (80m hurdles), Ollie Rushton (300m) and James Marsh (100m).

Nene Valley’s Under 17 boys were strong on the track with William Hughes first in the 200m with a speedy 22.3 clocking. Ronan Rawlings won the B 100m.

Samantha Muchina won the Under 15 100m and 200m.

Keilin Spurdens and Bradley Allen were first over the line in the B 800m and 1500m and Charles Hughes won the B discus and javelin.

Peterborough AC were unable to field a strong enough team to place highly in the overall rankings.

This, however, didn’t detract from some strong individual performances.

Top of the pile was Jamelia Smith, who ran a national standard time of 11.7 in the Under 17 girls 80m hurdles gaining her automatic selection for the English Schools Championships.

Another PAC athlete to gain the English schools qualifying mark was Georgia Price in the Under 15 girls high jump with a jump of 1.58m.

Elizabeth Taylor gained an Under 13 200m and 800m double and Under 15 sprinter Samantha Muchina equalled the achievement in the 100m and 200m.

Amber Park won the Under 15 300m.

Taylor’s 200m win in a rapid 27.2 broke the club record which was set by Louise Hazel back in 1998.

Georgie Ives-Lappin was first in the B 200m.

For the boys, Oliver Beasley threw furthest in the Under 13 B javelin and Patryk Szpryngiel won the Under 15 800m in an excellent 2:14.2.

Dane Stockhill was first in the Under 17 B 400m.

After three of the five meetings Nene Valley are sitting pretty in third place, while Peterborough AC currently lie 19th out of the 28 competing clubs.

Elizabeth Taylor broke a Peterborough Athletic Club record.