Sculling ace Archie gives City supporters plenty to cheer

Archie Sootheran was a winner for Peterborough City Rowing Club.
Archie Sootheran was a winner for Peterborough City Rowing Club.
Have your say

Archie Sootheran proudly flew the flag for Peterborough City Rowing Club when they hosted a junior regatta at Thorpe Meadows on Saturday.

The event attracted 175 crews from all over the country but Peterborough crews - due in the main to illness and injury - were in short supply.

In fact, just Sootheran and Abdul Aly were in action in Peterborough colours, and with the latter eliminated from a field of nine in the first round of the J15 singles sculls, it was left to Sootheran to give the home crowd something to cheer.

He raced in the J14 single sculls and in ideal conditions scorched through the heats with the fastest qualifying time from 10 competitors, with a sculler from the prestigious Marlow club second fastest.

The semi-finals saw a repeat performance as Sootheran shaved two seconds off his qualifying time to once again record the fastest time. And again it was Pikelis from Marlow who was just a few seconds slower in the other semi.

The final drew out the best in the competitors. Stratford-Upon-Avon were seven seconds faster and Marlow three seconds faster than in the semi-finals.

But Sootheran went even better. He improved by almost nine seconds to record the only sub-four minute kilometre in the category, to win the race and the Roy Penton Memorial Trophy.


Oundle School Boat Club had an outstanding day of racing at York City Regatta, coming away with eight wins.

Oliver Chapman (15) picked up three wins and Cosmo Davis Gimeno (15), Anna van de Braak (17) and Omer Elmadbouh (17) each won two races.

Oundle School Boat Club wins at the York City Regatta:

Women’s novice quad - Holly Telfer (14), Catrina Courtney (15), Rebecca Siddall (15), Lucy Sly (15) and Hannah Miller (15); Women’s novice sculls - Omer Elmadbouh (17); Women’s novice doubles - Omer Elmadbouh (17) and Jamie Hembury-Gunn (17); Junior 15 quad sculls - Zac Freij (15), Oliver Chapman (15), James Duckitt (15), Cosmo Davis Gimeno (15) with Benjamin Hutchinson (15) as cox; Junior 15 singles sculls - Oliver Champan (15); Junior 15 double sculls - Oliver Chapman (15) and Cosmo Davis Gimeno (15); Women’s Junior 17 single sculls - Anna van de Braak (17); Women’s Intermediate 2 single sculls - Anna van de Braak (17).