Harriers' strength in depth shines through at Braintree

Nene Valley Harriers made the journey south to Braintree on Sunday for an East Anglia League fixture and put in a superb performance to win the six-team match against the odds.

Thursday, 16th June 2016, 1:16 pm
Updated Thursday, 16th June 2016, 2:17 pm
Chloe Pavey was a 1500m winner.

Team manager Gary Huskisson travelled with a weakened team as a result of the previous day’s Cambridgeshire Schools Championship, but such is the strength in depth and team spirit at the club that it was a difficulty they easily overcame.

Many athletes took part in multiple events, none more successfully than Charles Hughes, who won the Under 17 discus, shot and javelin, and Under 15 Jack Rolfe with first places in the discus, hammer and B string shot.

George Harrison was the only Under 13 boys winner in the shot, while James Marsh dashed to a 100m and 200m double for the Under 15 boys.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Kielen Spurdens won his 1500m race.

Other Under 15 winners included 800m runner Joe Prince in a time of 2:11.7 on his club debut, Lee Addison in the high jump and Daniel Thompson in the B javelin.

Jon Pitts was first in the 80m hurdles and B long jump, while Harry Smith equalled that achievement in the B 80m hurdles and triple jump.

At Under 17 level, William Hughes achieved wins in the 100m and 200m with times of 11.8 and 23.7, and Kielin Spurdens was first in the 1500m. Kai Harrison and Denzil Mposu won the B shot and javelin.

Nene Valley’s senior men also had a good day, with club stalwart Adam Fidgett victorious in the B discus and javelin. Another old hand Dave Bush won the 110m hurdles and B high jump.

Kielen Spurdens won his 1500m race.

Several younger members of the team acquitted themselves well with wins for Rio Chilvers over 1500m and in the B high jump. Ollie Bowling took the B 400m honours, Jevan Robertson won the B 1500m and Alistair Pitts (long jump) and Carl Titman (high jump) were also victorious.

The ladies were no less successful, though the only Under 13 winner was Danielle Pusey in the B shot with 5.10m.

At Under 15 level there were victories for B string 800m runner Phoebe Horner, and Holly Yeeles.

The senior women really came into their own with Lydia Church - first in the 4kg shot and discus, and Ellie Mae-Stokes - first in the B triple jump and javelin - leading the way.

Alison Church and Chloe Pavey were winners in the B 400m and 1500m, as was Devon Spencer in the B triple jump. Rosie Fresen won the 80m hurdles and Bethany Denial threw furthest in the B shot. Priscilla Dadziea took the 3kg shot honours.

There was a limited Under 11 programme, but Harrier Evie Blow won the girls 80m in a speedy 12.2 seconds.