HALL OF FAME: A big honour for a big man

Local shot putt legend Geoff Capes is to be inducted into the England Athletics Hall of Fame.

Thursday, 28th June 2018, 11:25 am
Updated Monday, 16th July 2018, 4:51 pm
Geoff Capes.

The three-time Olympian from Holbeach will join other GB stars like Sebastian Coe, Steve Ovett, Brendan Foster and Linford Christie on the honours list.

Capes won two Commonwealth Games gold medals and two European Indoor Championship titles during an outstanding career in the 1970s and 1980s.

He is the most capped British male athlete of all time, receiving 67 international caps and returning 35 wins. He also won a further 35 caps for England.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He is a winner of 17 national titles including being seven times a winner of the AAA championship and three times UK champion.

In 1983 he was voted Britain’s best ever field athlete and his 1980 British record stood until 2003.

Capes, now 68, is due to be honoured at an awards night in October.

He said: “It’s a great award to be given for my services to athletics and it’s also great to be accepted by my peers into the England Athletics Hall of Fame.”

Capes is now producing champions from his Lincolnshire Throws Academy, which he runs with his son Lewis, and they are looking for sponsors.

Capes said: “Lincolnshire Throws Academy has been going for over nine years and it’s very successful.

“We want to continue our expansion and the academy is still looking for sponsors within the Lincolnshire area to support us.”

For more details on how to support the academy, email [email protected]


Harold Abrahams (2009)

Kriss Akabusi (2016)

Joan Allison (2015)

Malcolm Arnold (2009)

Athens Men’s 4x100 team (2017)

Steve Backley (2009)

McDonald Bailey (2015)

Bud Baldaro (2016)

Sir Roger Bannister (2008)

Roger Black (2015)

Lillian Board (2015)

Chris Brasher (2008)

Godfrey Brown (2017)

George Bunner (2014)

Lord Burghley (2009)

Guy Butler (2014)

Darren Campbell (2014)

Sir Chris Chataway (2012)

Linford Christie (2010)

Peter Coe (2015)

Lord Sebastian Coe (2008)

David Coleman (2008)

Kathy Cook (2011)

Muriel Cornell (2014)

Steve Cram (2009)

Danny Crates (2015)

Geoff Dyson (2008)

Jonathan Edwards (2009)

Peter Elliott (2015)

Don Finlay (2012)

Brendan Foster (2010)

George Gandy (2014)

Walter George (2010)

Sir Arthur Gold (2014)

PW ‘Jimmy’ Green (2010)

Sally Gunnell (2008)

Sir Ludwig Guttmann (2013)

Tom Hampson (2011)

Ashia Hansen (2014)

Dame Marea Hartman (2012)

Basil Heatley (2015)

David Hemery (2008)

Maurice Herriott (2017)

Albert Hill (2010)

Ron Hill (2014)

Jack Holden (2013)

David Holding (2008)

Dame Kelly Holmes (2010)

Fred Housden (2012)

Dorothy Hyman (2011)

Derek Ibbotson (2011)

Carl Johnson (2017)

Derek Johnson (2017)

Diane Leather (2013)

John Le Masurier (2010)

Bob Matthews (2014)

Sheila Lerwill (2013)

Denise Lewis (2011)

Bruce Longden (2011)

Douglas Lowe (2012)

Ken Matthews (2011)

David Moorcroft (2012)

Sam Mussabini (2011)

Judy Oakes (2016)

Steve Ovett (2008)

Alan Pascoe (2013)

Wilf Paish (2012)

Jim Peters (2013)

Gordon Pirie (2013)

Jean Pickering (2011)

Ron Pickering (2009)

Ann Packer (2009)

Peter Radford (2016)

Mary Rand (2009)

Ron Roddan (2016)

Arthur Rowe (2017)

Tessa Sanderson (2012)

Alf Shrubb (2009)

Wendy Sly (2017)

Joyce Smith (2016)

Mike Smith (2011)

Stuart Storey (2017)

Noel Thatcher (2009)

Daley Thompson (2008)

Don Thompson (2013)

Tokyo Men’s 4x400 team (2016)

Dorothy Tyler (2009)

Emil Voigt (2015)

Mel Watman (2013)

Denis Watts (2010)

F.A.M Webster (2012)

Fatima Whitbread (2012)

Harold Whitlock (2011)

Sydney Wooderson (2009)