GOLF: Russ is a double Winter League winner

Russ Holden.
Russ Holden.
Have your say

Russ Holden won both the men’s and seniors Winter League competitions at Greetham Valley at the weekend.


David Tansley, last year's Seniors Captain at Elton Furze, is pictured presenting a cheque for �2,500 to Chris Collier of the NSPCC,  the charity supported by the seniors section during 2016.

David Tansley, last year's Seniors Captain at Elton Furze, is pictured presenting a cheque for �2,500 to Chris Collier of the NSPCC, the charity supported by the seniors section during 2016.



Greensomes Competition: 1 David Longworth/Ella Reed 40pts; 2 Mick McKendrick/Christine Laxton 37pts; 3 Tom Bowden/Phyl Cook 37pts; 4 Ted Dunn/Gill Oughton 36pts; 5 John Oughton/Carol Dunn 34pts.


Hamer Trophy: 1 Ella Reed 36pts; 2 Linda Gill 36pts; 3 Ann Nichols 36pts.



Captain’s Day Pairs, Captain’s team 9, Vice-Captain’s team 9: Wally Lawes & Bill Sharpe lost 3 & 2 to Keith Cooper & Peter Orbine; Bob Townsend & Len Kempster halved with Bill Smith & Tom Melvin; Paul Heathershaw & Cliff Lane won 6 & 5 against Tom Burrows & George Davis; Derrick Smith & Mick Bliss halved with Keith Partridge & Dave Spridgen; Carol Plume & Neil Sargeant halved with John Venters & John George; Terry Grantham & Steve Steels lost 4 & 2 to Don Hinshelwood & Paul Wood; Steve Sayer & Barry Hircock won 5 & 3 against Stan Cleaver & Richard Senior; Tom Penning & Greg Walsh lost 4 & 3 to Raffaele Ragosa & Carl Claxton; Noel Delaney & Keith Lawrence won 7 & 6 against Rob Warlow & Ron Walpole. Nearest the line hole 2 - Robert Warlow. Nearest the pins: hole 3 - Neil Sargeant; hole 4 - Neil Sargeant; hole 11 - Mick Bliss; Steve Sayer; hole 6 - Barry Hircock.

Medal: Division One - 1 David Lord net 73; 2 Steve Sayer net 73. Division Two - 1 John George net 71; 2 Richard Senior net 74. Division Three - 1 Raffaele Ragosa net 78; 2 Roy Howe net 78.


Ruby Pell: 1 Marilyn Sayer 24pts; 2 Ann Chick 23pts; 3 Diane Moore 23pts.



Midweek Stableford: 1 Pauline Hurley 35pts; 2 Caron Lawson 30pts.

Elton Furze 1.5, Toft 3.5 (Elton Furze names first): Marilyn Smith/Trish Crighton halved with Lisa Gauci/Sally Burton; Liz Johnson/Janet Leitch beat Mary Stark/Bee McKechnie 4&3; Liz Titheridge/Lois King lost to Jean Parsons/Margaret Dair 2&1; Jenny Walters/Maureen Taylor lost to Louise Bradley/Linda Moss 5&4.


Midweek Stableford: 1 Richard L Hall 33pts; 2 Babu Odedra 33pts.



Queen Mother Cup: 1 Cath Hunt 43pts; 2 Heather McCrae 40pts; 3 Rebecca Core 37pts.

9 Hole Winter Lge: 1 Anne Curwen 18pts, 2nd Margaret Seed 15pts, 3rd Carol Alban 14pts.


Captain’s Day: 1 Philip Baines 37pts; Iain Caville 35pts; 3 Roger Coe 33pts; 4 David Asher 33pts; 5 Ray Tempest 33pts; 6 George Walters 33pts; 7 David Riley 32pts; 8 Peter Cudbertson 32pts. Nearest the Pin on the 14th – Dave Jones; Nearest the Pin on the 16th – Dave Riley.


Orton Meadows P’boro Mini Golf Summer Lge Rd 1: 1 Paul Farnham 38pts; 2 Greg Kaczmarcsyk 38pts; 3 Roxton Chapman 38pts.



Winter Order of Merit final round: 1 Paul Thwaites 39pts; 2 Mark Dorsett 39pts; 3 Russ Holden 39pts. Final standings - 1 Russ Holden 195pts; 2 Pete Maksymiw 176pts; 3 Chris Tapsell 166pts.

Winter League knockout final: Tony Mould/Dave Copley beat Bob Aitman/Tim Brown 3&1.


Winter League final round: Division One: 1 Neil Southwell net 66; 2 David Aldred net 68; 3 Bernie Bell net 69. Division Two - 1 John Clinton net 70; 2 Alan Sorlie net 71; 3 Russ Holden net 71. Final standings - 1 Russ Holden 312pts; 2 Keith Godwin 260pts; 3 Peter Palmer 259pts.


Winter Order of Merit final round: 1 Gilly Grant; 2= Pat Jamieson and Chris Edwards; 3 Liz Haughton; 4 Fay Taylor; 5 Liz Taylor. Final standings - 1 Isabella Condie 137.5pts; 2 Liz Taylor 105pts; 3= Sophie Beardsall and Kay Ropson 104.5pts.



Sycamore Cup: 1 Chris Craven / Steve Bradley; 2 Paul Mason / Mark Jarmain.

Cornthwaite Bowl: 1 Neil Barnes; 2 Phil Ackers.

Rutland County 4.5, Ramsey 1.5 (Ramsey names only): Mark Thurmott/Bob Suswain. halved; Chris Craven/ John Harris lost; Terry Cripps/Nick Lunniss won; Dave Humphreys/Adrian Malloy lost; Alan Weston/Mike King lost; Nigel Pratt/Adam Daly lost.