Girl power to the fore in the the PT Sports Awards

Olympic Jade Etherington at the Lincolnshire Show. Photo: Tim Wilson
Olympic Jade Etherington at the Lincolnshire Show. Photo: Tim Wilson
Have your say

The votes have been flooding in for your local sports stars of 2014 - but there is still time to vote for your Peterborough sporting heroes...

Get voting in the 2014 PT Sports Awards! Deadline is midnight on Friday, 16 January - find out how to vote here


As usual the majority have been cast in the junior footballer of the year category and supporters of Netherton United hot shot Emma Pollard are doing their best to create a slice of history.

No girl has ever won the award, but Emma, a free-scoring forward who cracked 51 goals in just 18 league games last season is polling strongly.

It’s a tough category this one though with 11 different players receiving votes so far. Others going well are Bayley McCann, the son of Posh midfielder Grant McCann, Tapiwanashe Shahwe and Mason Clarke.

The Footballer of the Year prize looks certain to be by-passing London Road for the third successive season.

Britt Assombalonga and Gaby Zakuani are the only full-time professionals to pick up votes so far.

Yaxley’s Dan Cotton and Peterborough Northern Star pair Avelino Viera and Jordan Macleod are way ahead of the Posh pair at the moment.

It’s not often Peterborough Town’s cricketers are beaten in their specialist field, but they are currently getting hit for six in the Sports Personality of the Year race by Ketton CC overlord Rob Vitas.

The charismatic captain has picked up plenty of votes as have Posh chairman Darragh MacAnthony, brilliant bowls ace Nicky Brett and Paralympic skiing medallist Jade Etherington.

Etherington is also going along nicely in the Sportswoman of the Year category.

Team of the year looks very competitive with martial artists Peterborough BCKA, Peterborough Town CC, Borough Ladies rugby and Feeder Soccer Under 10s all picking up plenty of votes.


There are 10 categories in total and the top three in each category will be invited to attend the presentation dinner at The Cresset on Friday, January 30 when the winners will be announced.

Where your votes have gone so far

Local sports stars with votes to their name already are:

Sports Personality: Nicky Brett, Jade Etherington, Jeff Lucas, Darragh MacAnthony, Robin Vitas.

Team of the Year: Borough Ladies Rugby Union, Deeping Rangers U13s FC, Feeder Soccer U10s, Hicks Karate School, Malborne U15s FC, Peterborough BCKA, Peterborough Lions RFC, Peterborough Regional College RFC, Peterborough Town CC, Pinchbeck U14s FC, Posh, Posh Youths, Riverside U18s FC, Tom Nash & Tom Marshall (rowing).

Sportsman: Grant Brown, Lewis Bruce, Kevin Buckley, Leon Gold, Lewis Hook, Matthew Powell, Rob Sayer, Matt Skelhon.

Sportswoman: Suzanne Dickens, Charlotte Edwards, Jade Etherington, Wendy Gooding, Atlanta Hickman, Gaynor Morgan, Lauren Steadman, Ann Woods.

Junior sportsman: Isaac Huskisson, Joe Cole, Dino Lee, Daniel Mees, Jerry Norman, Eddy Paddock, Jake Peppercorn, David Sayer, Robin Williams.

Junior sportswoman - Tierney Augustine, Katie Brown, Elizabeth Carter, Lydia Church, Harriet Fenton, Jaden Harris, Freya Molloy, Mia Purnell, Rachel Wellings.

Footballer - Britt Assombalonga, Dan Clements, Dan Cotton, Rhys Howden, Lewis Leckie, Jordan Macleod, Avelino Vieira, Gaby Zakuani.

Junior footballer - Cameron Baldock-Smith, Le Da Silva-Lopes, Alfie Ferguson, Josh Ford, Bayley McCann, Finley Morris, James Pam, Nathan Pickering, Emma Pollard, Tapiwanashe Shawe,

Coach - Lee Adamson, Lewis Capes, John Carver, Ron Cave, Tim Cook, Andrew Hicks, Lianne Jones, Slava Koulikov, Ben Negus, Kevin Oldham, Andy Stubbs, Andy Whitwell, Mike Yeoman.

Unsung hero - Keith Hall, Brian Hawes, Martin Hobbs, Brian Howard, Fred Johnson, Robert Windle.

Bowler Nicky Brett is a leading contender for PT Sports Personality of the Year.