POSH PREVIEW - The players we need to match

Ryan Bennett was one of the stars of the last Peterborough United promotion from League One.
Ryan Bennett was one of the stars of the last Peterborough United promotion from League One.
Have your say

The last Posh team to win promotion from League One included Craig Mackail-Smith, George Boyd and Lee Tomlin.

Darren Ferguson was the manager on an unforgettable day at Old Trafford when Huddersfield Town (who hadn’t lost for a very long time) were beaten 3-0.

So how do the current team match up to the class of 2011?

Obviously we’re guessing at Dave Robertson’s likely preferred starting line-up and we’ve discounted Gaby Zakuani, the only survivor from four years ago....

Paul Jones v Ben Alnwick.

Jones was nothing special and probably wouldn’t have played if Juggling Joe Lewis had been fit.

Winner: Alnwick.

Mark Little v Michael Smith.

Little was decent, but never as good for Posh as he was last season for Bristol City. Smith is going to be a classy recruit.

Winner: Draw.

Grant Basey v Kgosi Ntlhe.

Basey couldn’t run, Ntlhe can. Charlie Lee was better than both.

Winner: Ntlhe.

Ryan Bennett v Ricardo Santos.

Bennett is one of the best defenders to grace London Road in the club’s Football League history.

Winner: Bennett.

James Wesolowski v Michael Bostwick.

Wesolowski was a trier, but he lacks the strength, power and scoring ability of the new Posh skipper.

Winner: Bostwick.

Grant McCann v Jack Collison.

McCann was a real class act and if Collison stays fit he will be also.

Winner: Draw.

Tommy Rowe v Marcus Maddison.

Rowe scored important goals, tracked back and stayed on his feet.

Winner: Rowe.

George Boyd v Jon Taylor.

No-one could beat Boyd in a match-up, not even Taylor who isn’t bad.

Winner: Boyd

Lee Tomlin v Conor Washington.

Tomlin was exceptional, although Washington is a nicer bloke.

Winner: Tomlin.

Craig Mackail-Smith v Joe Gormley.

Gormley will have to go some to match the brilliant CMS. If he does, get a bet on Posh for promotion.

Winner: Mackail-Smith.

Verdict: Five ‘wins’ for the 2011 team, three for the current team and two draws.