POSH LATEST: Old boy re-union at the ABAX as Peterborough United draw Luton Town in the FA Cup

Luton goalkeeper Mark Tyler is delighted with an FA Cup draw that gives him the chance to return to Posh.
Luton goalkeeper Mark Tyler is delighted with an FA Cup draw that gives him the chance to return to Posh.
Have your say

Peterborough United will play League Two side Luton Town in the second round of the FA Cup.

That means a return to the ABAX Stadium for club legends Craig Mackail-Smith and Mark Tyler as well as former manager John Still and midfielder Josh McQuoid who scored a goal at Wembley when Posh won the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy Final in 2014. Luton left-back Scott Griffiths played for Posh in the Championship.

Tyler is the second-highest appearance-maker in Posh history with 486. He said in the Peterborough Telegraph last week that he watched every FA Cup draw hoping that he would be able to make one more appearance at Posh.

Tonight (November 9) Tyler said: “I can’t believe it and I can’t wait.”

Posh striker Lee Angol was a Luton player, but never made a first-team appearance for the Hatters.

Posh have played Luton just once in an FA Cup tie and that was back in 1983 when David Pleat’s Division One side beat Martin Wilkinson’s struggling Posh side 3-0. Wilkinson left Posh a month later. He had been in charge for just seven months.

The tie will take place between December 4-7.

Full second round draw: Aldershot Town or Bradford City v Chesham United, Barnet v Brackley Town or Newport County, Peterborough United v Luton Town, Portsmouth v Accrington Stanley, Northampton Town v Northwich Victoria or Boreham Wood, Exeter City v Port Vale or Maidenhead United, Cambridge United v Doncaster Rovers, Stourbridge v Eastleigh, Grimsby Town v Shrewsbury Town, Yeovil Town v Stevenage, Rochdale v Bury, Welling United v Carlisle United, Leyton Orient v Scunthorpe United, Millwall v Wycombe Wanderers, Colchester United v Altrincham, FC United of Manchester or Chesterfield v Walsall, Sheffield United v Mansfield Town or Oldham Athletic, Salford City v Hartlepool United, Dagenham & Redbridge or Morecambe v Whitehawk, Braintree Town or Oxford United v Forest Green Rovers.