Big night for Posh striker Jonson Clarke-Harris

Posh striker Jonson Clarke-Harris will discover whether or not he’s the League One player of the season tonight (Thursday).

Thursday, 29th April 2021, 1:19 pm
Jonson Clarke-Harris of Peterborough United celebrates a winning goal at Fleetwood on Good Friday.
Jonson Clarke-Harris of Peterborough United celebrates a winning goal at Fleetwood on Good Friday.

Clarke-Harris is one of three nominees for the prestigious prize and the ceremony is being screened live on the Sky Sports Football channel from 7.30pm.

The 31-goal forward (29 in League One) is up against Sunderland striker Charlie Wyke and playmaker George Honeyman of promoted Hull City.

Posh boss Darren Ferguson is in no doubt Clarke-Harris would be a deserving winner.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ferguson said: “Jonson’s had an unbelievable season and 29 goals is an incredible return in his first season with us.

“When he came in at the start of the season we knew he wasn’t fit, but he hasn’t missed a game. He’s been a brilliant signing for us. Once again we’ve produced another striker who can score goals.”

Clarke-Harris (26) has scored in 25 different Posh matches this season and has claimed two hat-tricks against Rochdale and Accrington Stanley.

Only Terry Bly (52 in 1960-61) has scored 30 goals in a single League season for Posh. Clarke-Harris joins Bly (1961-62) and Aaron Mclean (2007-08) as players who have scored 29 goals in a single campaign.

Clarke-Harris had never scored more than 19 goals in a season before moving to Posh from Bristol Rovers for a reported million pounds in the summer. He won the EFL League One player of the month award in February.

Clarke-Harris was signed to replace Ivan Toney in the Posh starting line-up and his predecessor is also up for the Championship player-of-the season award tonight for also scoring 29 goals for Brentford.

Toney is competing with Norwich City pair Teemu Pukki and Emiliano Buendía.

The League Two contenders are Paul Mullin and Wes Hoolahan of Cambridge United and Jamille Matt of Forest Green Rovers.

The awards will also be streamed live on the @EFL Twitter page and you can get involved using the hashtag #EFLAwards