Long-serving referees are honoured by League

Stewart Francis.
Stewart Francis.
Have your say

Referees and club officials were among those to collect prizes at the Peterborough League’s Annual General Meeting.

Alan Mutton, Reg Parker, David Stapleton, Steve Woodbridge, Robert Windle, Peter Chappell, Stewart Francis and Paul Gale were all honoured for providing 20 years of service to the League.

Ashley Baldock-Smith picked up the young referee of the year award, while Kevin Fletcher of Crowland won the Premier Division assistant referee of the year prize.

Craig Shuttleworth of Oakham United and Rebecca Morley of Stamford Bels Vets received recognition of their five-year plus service as club secretaries.

League winners and cup winners were all feted at the AGM which passed with little incident or controversy.

The chairmanship of the league passed from Dave Barfoot to Clive Wilson.

Keith Sharp will serve as a vice-chairman.

‘Respect’ prizes went to Deeping Rangers (Premier Division), Riverside (Premier Division runners-up), King’s Cliffe (Divisions One-Five) and Coates Athletic C (Divisions One-Five, runners-up).

Coates Athletic will compete as Whittlesey Athletic next season.

The Peterborough Sunday Morning League AGM was held last weekend with clubs voting to return the Hereward Elite Cup to a straight knock-out competition.