Football: World Cup winner to honour Peterborough League officials at Wembley

Peterborough League vice-chairman Keith Sharp.
Peterborough League vice-chairman Keith Sharp.
Have your say

Peterborough & District Football League officials will receive a major national award in front of 90,000 fans at Wembley tomorrow (August 2).

The League has won the prestigious FA Charter Standard League of the Year award in the face of stiff competition from all over England.

Chairman Clive Wilson, vice-chairman Keith Sharp, development director Alan Mutton and respect officer Daniel Leggett will receive the award from 1966 England World Cup Final hat-trick hero Sir Geoff Hurst on behalf of the league at half time in the Community Shield match between Arsenal and Chelsea.

Hurst said: “Competitions like the Peterborough & District League keep grassroots football alive in this country.

“Their efforts give children and adults of all abilities the opportunity to enjoy and participate in the beautiful game in a safe environment.

“Without them the game we know and love couldn’t exist.

“I’m looking forward to thanking Peterborough League representatives personally.”