A first for Longthorpeas Dick becomesleague president

Dick Gill has become the first member of the Longthorpe club to hold the office as president of the Peterborough & District Bowls League.

Thursday, 14th December 2017, 11:53 am
Updated Thursday, 14th December 2017, 11:55 am
New Peterborough League president Dick Gill (right) received the chain of office from outgoing president Bruce Saint.

The 91-year-old, whose father played in the League’s very first season of operation back in 1913, received the chain of office from outgoing president Bruce Saint (Yaxley).

Fixture secretary Tony Coe reported that all of last season’s teams had entered for next year, and that Stamford Town, who already play in the Weekend League, had submitted an entry for the Club 60 League.

An extraordinary general meeting has been called for Tuesday, January 9 for clubs to vote on a number of motions that couldn’t be dealt with at the meeting because of constitutional issues.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Officers elected: Chairman, Melvyn Beck; Secretary, Martin Garfield; Treasurer, Andy Cox; Fixture secretary, Tony Coe; Committee, Bruce Saint (immediate past president), Martin & Brenda Tibbles, Terry Grimshaw.

Martin Tibbles (Midweek), Keith Brown (Weekend) and Terry Grimshaw (Club 60) will continue as result co-ordinators for their respective leagues, with Tony Coe looking after the cup competitions.

Jean Redhead didn’t take up the option of remaining on the committee after serving for two years as president and then immediate past president, while her Whittlesey Town colleague Derrick Reedman stood down following several years of service, including a term as president.

n The Peterborough & District men’s senior team are up to fourth in the Cambs League after a 121-56 crushing of bottom club City of Ely B.

The defending champions are now just seven points adrift of leaders Huntingdon A following another maximum points haul.


Peterborough 121 (10), City of Ely B 56 (0): (Peterborough rinks only):

Joe Martin, Steve Johnson, Terry English, Rod Maplethorpe won 36-13.

Dave Smith, Graham Jackson, Ean Eagle, Ray Keating won 30-12.

Les Sharp, John Barker, Phil Afford, Mick Linnell won 28-14.

Dick Overson, Norman Gray, Mick Greaves, Peter Haynes won 27-17.