Star-studded line-up wheeling its way to Peterborough

Local rider Steve Lampier.
Local rider Steve Lampier.
Have your say

Britain’s fastest cycling teams are on their way to Peterborou gh.

The opening round of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series starts tonight (May 14) at Ryde on the Isle of Wight and on June 9 the star-studded field arrives in Peterborough for the penultimate ninth round .

And this year’s line-up is better than ever. Olympic, world and Commonwealth Champions will be riding in both the men’s and women’s five-week series.

Among those listed in the 10-rider men’s squads are Olympic champions Ed Clancy, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Steven Burke, 2014 Commonwealth Games gold medallist Tom Scully and current Australian Criterium Champion Steele Von Hoff.

And the women’s Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series, which starts five days later in Redditch on Tuesday May 19, will feature Olympic champions Laura Trott, Dani King and Joanna Rowsell, plus multiple Paralympic champion Dame Sarah Storey and Commonwealth Games medallist Charline Joiner.

JLT Condor are the defending champions and in 2014 they became the only team to win the series twice during its six-year history.

Two teams make their debuts. They are Team Wiggins, the new squad of 2012 Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins, and ONE Pro Cycling, the team of England cricketer Matt Prior.

Team Raleigh GAC are led by local ace Steve Lampier - the Peterborough Cycling Club member who lives at Bourne. Lampier won the recent Elite Road Series Spring Cup and is joined in the Raleigh team by Polish rider Karol Domagalski and three-time World track cycling champion Morgan Kneisky.

The Series is being televised by ITV and highlights from tonight’s opening round will be shown tomorrow (Friday May 15) on ITV4 at 8pm.

Past winners are Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011), Endura Racing (2012), Team UK Youth (2013) and Rapha Condor JLT (2014).