Marina wins prestigious Kelly Cup

Kevin Hobbs.
Kevin Hobbs.
Have your say

Peterborough Cycling Club members had plenty to celebrate when they gathered at the Fleet Community Centre for their annual presentation of awards.

The club’s successes in 2016 included winning both individual and team prizes in the season-long Northants & District CA short distance competition; club records sent tumbling at 10, 25 and 50 miles and a new vets record set at 30 miles (Graham Wright); and Malcolm Smith winning the LVRC Championship.

Club champion was Kevin Hobbs while Marina Burden was awarded the prestigious Kelly Cup for being the first ever female club member to win a road race in the summer.

Award winners were James Gelsthorpe, Claire Hobbs, Kevin Hobbs, Paul Pardoe, Marina Burden, Malcolm Smith, Alan Brophy, Claire Steels, Paul Townsin, David Sargent, Graham Wright, Jason Burrill, Matt Senter, Christophe Demoulin and Matt Garfield.

The awards were presented by guest of honour Harry Lodge, a former Giro d’Italia and Vuelta an Espana participant who enjoyed a 13-year pro career when living in Belgium and Italy.