Lunn leads the way for Clarion at Sawtry

Sport news from the Peterborough Telegraph -
Sport news from the Peterborough Telegraph -
Have your say

It was a busy weeked for local cycling club Fenland Clarion as they hosted two race events.

On Friday it was a youth cyclo-cross event at theEmbankment athletics track while on Saturday they organised the second round of the Northants time-trial series on the Sawtry-based N1/10 course.

In the Northants time-trial there was bumper entry of 116 riders and with some good local riders entered hopes were high of a local victory.

However, it was not to be as Simon Norman had other ideas. The Arbis Colbert rider completed the 10 miles in 21:09 to take the win, with Fenland Clarion’s Paul Lunn taking second with 21:25.

Luke Hattersley of St Ives was third in 21:28, Mick Hodson (St Ives) fourth in 21:42, Clarion’s Dave Langlands fifth in 21:48 and St Ives Carl Whitwell sixth in 21:54.

St Ives won the team award by a minute from Fenland Clarion.

This event also counted as a National Clarion scoring event and it was local triathlete Lunn who claimed a victory in that.

Other local times:

Andy Roffe (Team Salesengine) 22.10 (8th); Steve Wood (Peterborough CC) 22:33 (14th); Chris Rimes (Team Salesengine) 22:45 (18th); Nick Hitchens (Peterborough CC) 23:25 (22nd); Malc Jacklin (Fenland Clarion) 23:27 (23rd); Steve Kaye (Fenland Clarion) 23:34 (24th); Joe Clarke (Fenland Clarion) 23:34 (25th); Kevin Hobbs (Peterborough CC) 23:34 (27th); Mark Ingram (Fenland Clarion) 23:48 (33rd); Jerry Norman (Fenland Clarion) 24:27 (38th); Simon Pidduck (Peterborough CC) 25:42 (60th); Chris Shaw (Fenland Clarion) 25:55 (64th); John Royle (Fenland Clarion) 25:57 (65th); Phil Merritt (Fenland Clarion) 26:32 (70th); Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion) 27:11 (73rd); Hasnain Dhanji (Fenland Clarion) 28:50 (84th); Annette Wyld (Peterborough CC) 29:18 (86th); Georgina Jennings (Fenland Clarion) 29:18 (87th); Lynn Smitheringale (Peterborough CC) 34:29 (103rd).

In Friday night’s youth cyclo-cross event there were dominant displays by Oliver Tilley (Kings Cliffe Flyers) in the Under 8s, Adam Lea (Milton Keynes) in the Under 10s, Cameron Neilson (FenlandClation) in the Under 12s, Mia Purnell (Fenland Clarion) in the Under 14s and Jerry Norman (Fenland Clarion) in the Under 16s.

They all cleaned up in their age groups.