Brilliant Brett conquers Sawtry

Brett Harwood won the Sawtry Open 10.
Brett Harwood won the Sawtry Open 10.
Have your say

Brett Harwood claimed victory for hosts Peterborough Cycling Club in the Sawtry Open 10.

Nationally-ranked Harwood is a second-claim member of the city club and showed his class by completing the course in a scintillating 20.20 which equated to an average speed of around 30 miles per hour on a very windy day.

Locals to finish in the top 10 were Bourne-based Jason Burrill who was seventh in 21.47 and Deeping’s Steve Wood who was 10th in 22.16.

Peterborough Cycling Club placings were: 15th Paul Pardoe 22-54,16th Nick Hitchens 23-01,18th Kevin Hobbs 23-07,22nd Graham Wright 23-46,23rd Dave Hulatt 23-59, 24th Martin Bullen 24-05, 31th Dafydd Houston 24-29, 32nd Michael Smalley 24-31, 43rd Lee Forster 25-33, 51st Simon Pidduck 24-31,52nd Alex Ellis 26-18, 62nd Annette Wyld 28-44 (our first lady), 71st Lynn Smithergale 33-14, 72nd Anna Dermitzakas 33-19 and 75th Lou Wood in 34-41.

Stamford-based Victoria Valentine celebrated a fourth-place finish in a road race in Skillington and six days later finished a superb third in the UCL World Class Tour Masters race in Copenhagen.

The club’s road race team competed in the Ashwell CC 60 mile event with Matt Garfield (11th) finishing well.

Burrill was an excellent 20th in the East Midlands Championships at Derby.