CYCLING: Dawid leads from the front for Peterborough

Peterborough Cycling Club celebrated their first win of the new season at the weekend when their Polish member Dawid Sargent-Szczesniak took the honours in the Northants CRA handicap road race at Keysoe.

Thursday, 30th March 2017, 9:42 am
Updated Tuesday, 9th May 2017, 6:23 pm
Pictured are prizewinners in the Fenland Clarion Spring Series of youth races.

Competing in only the second road race of his career, Sargent-Szczesniak stormed home in rather unusual style as he rode away from his group and stayed away for the whole race.

Paul Pardoe then placed seventh for Peterborough with clubmates Alan Brophy and Mark Hill breathing down his neck.

Tom Stokes of city club Fenland Clarion won the first race in the Northants series but had to settle for sixth place at Keysoe. Team-mate Mark Williams finished in 22nd place.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Paul Lilley completed the Coalville Wheelers 10-mile time trial in 24.49 for 27th place

Several Clarion youngsters took part in the Milton Keyens circuit races.

The best result came from Ruby Issac, who was second in the Under 10 girls race.

Other placings were: Under 10 Boys - 5 Evander Wishart; 8 Harry Tozer. Under 16 Boys - 25 Alfie McIntyre. Under 14 Boys - 7 Edward Lowe.

Fenland Clarion held the third and final round of youth racing in their Spring Series at the Embankment on Friday with many local riders placing well.

In the Under 8s Benjamin Robinson took his first race victory on his way to third place for the series, while Katie Blake rode consistently with two third places to secure second in the series.

The pick of the Under 8s on the night though was Fearne Starr with a win and a second place to clinch the series win.

Evander Wishart picked up the Under 10 series win followed by Clarion clubmate Harry Tozer while the 1-2-3 overall at Under 12 level was William Barraclough, Oliver Tilley and newcomer Safford Hewitt-White

Jensen Barraclough was the only rider to win all eight of his races in the series and that earned him the Under 14 title ahead of Harry Tilley and Tom Brown, and in the Under 16 age group it was James Piercy first, Alfie McIntyre second and Mia Purnell third,