NORTHANTS PREMIER DIVISION: Town walloped at Wollaston

Lewis Bruce claimed 4-43 for Peterborough Town at Wollaston.
Lewis Bruce claimed 4-43 for Peterborough Town at Wollaston.
Have your say

Peterborough Town kissed goodbye to their Northants Premier Division title hopes after a disastrous day (July 9) at Wollaston.

Wollaston are the most improved team in the competition this summer and Town fielded a side weakened by injury, but a 118-run defeat was a chastening experience for a side unused to such results.

Bashrat Hussain enjoyed a strong all-round day for Oundle against Rushden.

Bashrat Hussain enjoyed a strong all-round day for Oundle against Rushden.

Town conceded 40 extras (17 wides) to help Wollaston to 214-8 in their 50 overs and then capitulated with the bat after tea,

The city side were dismissed for just 96 in a mere 21 overs and four balls with 27 extras (21 wides) comfortably delivering the biggest contribution. Number 11 Jamie Smith was next best with 15 not out, which included a sixe and two fours.

In times of stress top players need to step up, but Town’s, with the exception of Lewis Bruce who bowled well to take 4-43 from 15 overs, failed. Star batsman Asim Butt was dismissed for a duck after once more falling lbw - a problem he seems unable to correct.

Bruce, Alex Mitchell and Ajaz Akhtar all scored 12, but no-one else managed double figures as a re-jigged batting order failed to fire.

Town have now dropped to fifth in the table, one place below Wollaston, and 44 points behind unbeaten leaders Old Northamptonians.

A second successive trophy-less season now looms large unless Town can beat Twenty/20 specialists Bourne in Monday’s 9June 11) Jaidka Cup Final at Bretton Gate.



H. Brown lbw Dawborn 0

M. Jones lbw Bruce 27

J. Webster b Danyaal 16

M. Carter c Butt b Bruce 40

M. Ralph c Milner b Bruce 12

A. Momi c Howard b Ganesan 50

C. Perry not out 10

S. Musgrave lbw Bruce 10

J. Coutts c Bruce b Ganesan 9

Extras 40

TOTAL (8 wkts) 214

Bowling: J. Dawborn 12-3-49-1; J. Smith 9-2-37-0; M. Danyaal 8-1-34-1; L. Bruce 15-4-43-4; B. Ganesan 6-0-33-2.


L. Bruce c Perry b Bassin 12

D. Clarke c Wesbetr b Bassin 3

A. Butt lbw Bassin 0

A. Mitchell b Healey 12

A. Akhtar c Carter b Bassin 12

M. Howard b Perry 8

C. Milner b Musgrave 1

J. Dawborn b Musgrave 4

M. Danyaal c Ralph b Musgrave 0

B. Ganesan b Perry 2

J. Smith not out 15

Extras 27


Bowling: J. Coutts 1-0-12-0; N, Healey 6-3-22-1; R. Bassin 6-1-25-4; C. Parry 4.4-2-17-2; S. Musgrave 4-1-16-3.

Oundle suffered an agonising three-run defeat at the hands of reigning champions Rushden.

In a match reduced to 41 overs per side by heavy morning rain, Rushden were dismissed for 190. The visitors to Milton Road recovered from 85-5 after early batting problems caused by Tshepo Moreki (4-38) and skipper Bashrat Hussain (3-46).

Oundle never seemed on course to win, but a last-wicket stand of 28 between Hussain (29) and Ritchie Cunningham almost secured a remarkable win until the former was dismissed with two balls to spare.

Pete Foster top scored for Oundle with 43.

OUNDLE lost to RUSHDEN by 3 runs

Rushden 190 (T. Moreki 4-38, B. Hussain 3-46).

Oundle 187 (P. Foster 43, B. Hussain 29, M. Hodgson 25).