Another makeover for local cricket’s oldest KO competition

Bourne Cricket Club's Jaidka Cup winning team last year.
Bourne Cricket Club's Jaidka Cup winning team last year.
Have your say

The area’s most prestigious Twenty/20 Cup competition has undergone another makeover.

The Jaidka Cup 2015 will, for the first time in its 80-year history, no longer be a straight knockout event.

The Jaidka Committee, which in recent years has introduced coloured clothing, team nicknames and scrapped the two-innings final, has introduced a ‘zonal group’ system in order to cut down on long distance travel for a midweek game and to ensure teams get to play at least two matches.

Twelve teams have entered a competition won by the splendidly-named Royal Challengers Bournegalore last year. They beat March Crows in the final.

There’s a welcome return for the Ramsey Raiders and a first appearance for decades for Spalding. Khalsa, Yaxley and Ufford Park are not competing in the 2015 competition after taking part in 2014.

Holders Bourne have a tough group with Spalding and Market Deeping.

Only one team from each group will advance to the semi-finals. In the event of a tie in the group stages run-rate will determine the winners.

March Crows, who returned to Jaidka action for the first time in 10 years last season and promptly toppled National Twenty/20 finalists Peterborough Town and holders Wisbech, are also in a tough group alongside fellow Cambs Division One sides Wisbech and Ramsey.

Draw: Zone A - Ketton Lions, Burghley Park Bears, Barnack.

Zone B - Royal Challengers Bournegalore, Market Deeping Dragons, Spalding.

Zone C - Nassington Knights, Castor Harlequins, Peterborough Town Newflames.

Zone D - Wisbech Wildcats, March Crows, Ramsey Raiders.

Zonal matches will take place on Wednesdays, May w13, 20 & June 3.

The semi-finals are scheduled for June 10 and June 17 with the final to take place on June 24.

Champions Bourne open their defence at home to Spalding.