CRICKET: Holders Knights face Kites in first round of Jaidka Cup.

Holders Nassington Knights face a two-legged first round match against Oundle Kites in the 2016 Jaidka Cup.

Wednesday, 30th March 2016, 4:26 pm
Updated Wednesday, 30th March 2016, 4:31 pm
Nassington after winning the 2015 Jaidka Cup Final.

The most prestigious local twenty/20 competition has attracted 10 entrants this year, two fewer than in 2015.

Spalding, Burghley Park and Ketton declined to enter this year, but Oundle are new entrants.

The teams have been split into four zones with the winner of each zone advancing to the semi-finals. Net run rate will determine the group winners if necessary.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There are only two teams in zones A (Nassington and Oundle) and B (Bourne and Market Deeping) so they will play each home and away.

Deeping Dragons lost an exciting final to Nassington last season. Bourne will again be called Royal Challengers Bournegalore.

Peterborough Town Titans’ desire to end their miserable recent Jaidka form will be tested initially by Castor Harlequins and Barnack Eagles in zone C.

March Crows, Wisbech Wildcats and Ramsey Raiders make up a high-quality zone D of Cambs League teams.

The first matches in the 2016 competition take place on Wednesday, May 11 with the semi-finals scheduled for June 15 & June 22, and the final scheduled for June 29.

Zone A: Oundle, Nassington.

Zone B: Bourne, Deeping.

Zone C: Peterborough Town, Barnack, Castor.

Zone D: Wisbech, Ramsey, March.