CRICKET: Bruce to skipper Cambridgeshire

Peterborough Town's Lewis Bruce has been appointed captain of the Cambs Minor Counties team.

Friday, 11th March 2016, 1:21 pm
Updated Friday, 11th March 2016, 1:26 pm
Lewis Bruce after winning the Peterborough Telegraph Sports Personality of the Year prize in 2014.

Bruce takes over after regular skipper Paul McMahon was ruled out for the summer because of knee ligament damage sustained playing football.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Bruce stepped down as captain of Town at the end of last season after leading them to back-to-back Northants Premier Division titles and a second-placed finish. He also took Town to the semi-finals of the National Twenty/20 competition for the first time in 2014 which helped him become the Peterborough Telegraph’s Sports Personality of the Year.

Town’s Asim Butt and former Leicestershire batsman Ben Smith will be Cambs’ Minor Counties professionals this season.

Ajaz Akhtar, a former Town and Cambs captain, has been appointed Cambs’ Head of Cricket.