Clarke produces his best time since 1985

Fenland Clarion chairman Steve Clarke is enjoying one of his best seasons for several years.

Thursday, 23rd August 2018, 8:54 am
Updated Monday, 3rd September 2018, 12:16 pm
Steve Clarke in action at the ECCA 10-mile time trial.

Riding in the latest ECCA 10-mile time trial event on a course just south of Cambridge, the veteran rider clocked his fastest time since 1985 when finishing in 22:48.

In the same event there were also some quality performances from other Clarion riders with Steve Kaye first home in 20:47 followed by Paul Lilley 20:52, Lindsay Clarke 23:03 and John Royle 25:21.

In the 25-mile NDCA time trial there was team success for Fenland Clarion, who were once again led home by Simon Pitchford. His 26mph ride gave him a time of 57:42 for sixth place overall and he was well supported by Ian Waddilove in 59:23 and the rapidly improving Steve Maile with 61:24.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Clarion finished their summer 10-mile series on their Helpston-based course and considering the windy conditions there were some good times including the fastest ride of the series of 21:29 by Paul Lunn.

Series winner Simon Pitchford had to settle for second place on this occasion with his time of 22:09.

The podium was completed by Phil Ackerman in 22:30 while Mel Evans was the fastest lady in 26:47.

Others: Dave Thorold 23:37, Ian Waddilove 23:44, Chris Shaw 27:17, Malc Jacklin 24:19, Dave O’Brien 24:38, Phil Jones 24:56, Neil Richardson 25:18, James Warrener 26:05, Ian Aunger 26:08, Phil Merritt 26:19, Martin Brooker 26:24, David Hallam 26:45, Paul Asplin 26:55, Lisa Jane Leonard 27:33, James Piercy 28:11, Andy Hall 28:36.

Bluebell Series: 1 Simon Pitchford; 2 Martin Brooker; 3 Chris Shaw; 4 Thomas Stegeman; 5 Phil Ackerman; 6 Jonathan Toma; 7= James Warrener & Tonya Smith; 9= Dave Thorold & Paul Asplin; 11 Mel Evans; 12= Sam Young & James Piercy; 14 Dave Hallum; 15 Ian Waddilove.