Wilkie shocks world number one Brett

Nicky Brett was beaten by Nick Wilkie.
Nicky Brett was beaten by Nick Wilkie.
Have your say

There was a feather in the cap for local bowler Nick Wilkie as he beat world number one Nicky Brett in the area rounds of the English national indoor singles championship.

Wilkie took the honours 21-17 on Brett’s home green at Huntingdon to join fellow city bowler Joe Randall in the last 16, Randall having beaten Kevin Warwick (St Neots) 21-8.

Howard Shipp was eliminated from both the pairs and triples, 12-28 to Jamie Barker (St Neots) in the pairs and to Brett in the triples, 13-21, while Pete Harvey was beaten 11-34 by Keith Hunt (March) in the Over 60 pairs.

In the women’s events, Carol Hunter gained two victories over Peterborough colleague Sheila Craig, winning 24-12 to reach the semi-final of the area fours, and 22-14 for a place in the last four of the over 60 pairs, but she lost 14-22 to Pauline Ayres (March) in the over 50 triples.


The Northants Bowling Federation begin their Derbyshire Trophy indoor inter-county championship campaign against Hunts at Peterborough & District on Sunday morning (10am).

Having won the Adams Trophy, the equivalent outdoor title, for the first time last summer, the county will be seeking a unique double.

James Harford is leading the team for the first time as they bid to win the title for a third time, having won it in 1996 and again in 2006.

He has selected a strong team to open the season’s programme, remembering it was a defeat at the hands of Hunts last year which cost them a place in the final.

Northants (not in rink order): Brian Martin, Roger Martin, Nick Wilkie, Stephen Harris, John Holroyd, Joe Randall, Neil Wright, Tony Scarr, Jonathan Earl, Tristan Morton, James Harford, Simon Law.


The Peterborough senior men’s team maintained their strong challenge for Cambs League honours this season with a maximum ten points haul against March A, winning 75-51.


Peterborough 75 (10), March A 51 (0) – (Peterborough rinks only):

Dick Overson, Jeff Clipston, Mick Greaves, Rod Maplethorpe won 20-6.

Mick Fuller, Richard Day, Phil Afford, Frank Paul 22-15.

Norman Gray, Don Paul, Don Sutton, Wilf Redhead 20-17.

Les Sharp, Pete Harvey, Mick Linnell, Dick Noble won 14-13.