Plate hopes smashed by Avon Valley

Joan Robinson.
Joan Robinson.
Have your say

Peterborough’s hopes of bringing an English Indoor Bowling Association national indoor team title to the city this season were dashed at the weekend.

The women’s team narrowly failed in their bid to reach the quarter-finals of the Yetton Plate, losing 64-73 to the Avon Valley club based near Coventry.

The event, two rinks at home and two away, is a consolation one for teams eliminated in the opening round of the mainstream Yetton Trophy inter-club championship.

They had been hoping to emulate the men’s team who won the equivalent Denny Plate competition in 2007.


In the Northants Women’s Bowling Federation indoor competitions, the senior singles has reached the semi-final stage, but title holder Jenny Harvey will not be involved, having lost 20-21 to Chris Ford, who now faces county president Joan Robinson, whose trophy they are playing for.

Shirley Suffling and Julie Masters meet in the other semi-final.

The finals of the men’s and women’s competitions take place at Peterborough & District on Sunday, March 13, with the winners going forward to represent the county at the national finals in Newark at the end of April.


WOMEN’S SENIOR SINGLES, quarter-finals: Chris Ford bt Jenny Harvey 21-20; Shirley Suffling bt Sheila Craig 21-15; Julie Masters bt Sue Moir 21-19; Joan Robinson bt Hazel Bass 21-13.

Meanwhile, the ladies had to give second best once again to the men in the annual indoor match played at Peterborough & District on Sunday, with the men, led by president Bob Warters, winning 134-69 in the six-rink match, leaving women’s president Joan Robinson, who had least had the satisfaction of skipping their only successful rink, to hand over the Eagle Trophy to her opposite number.


The Peterborough senior men’s team gained maximum points from their visit to March B in the Cambs League with a 95-53 victory.


Peterborough 95 (10), March B 53 (0): (Peterborough rinks only):

Dick Overson, Joe Martin, Nigel Eagle, Rod Maplethorpe won 28-11.

Mick Fuller, Terry Corney, Phil Afford, Frank Paul won 24-14.

Les Sharp, Richard Harrison, Mick Linnell, Dick Noble won 19-11.

Dave Smith, Pete Harvey, Mick Greaves, Wilf Redhead won 24-17.