Disappointing start for Northants men

Bowls news from the Peterborough Telegraph www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport
Bowls news from the Peterborough Telegraph www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport
Have your say

Northants Bowling Federation suffered a disappointing start to their Derbyshire Trophy inter-county campaign on Sunday with a narrow defeat away to Hunts.

Rink honours were shared at two apiece, but Hunts took the overall match honours with an 87-80 victory, leaving Northants with just four points.

Next up for Northants is a home match against Lincs at Stamford IBC on Sunday, January 11.


Northants 80 (4), Hunts 87 (14) – (Northants rinks only):

Stephen Harris, Roger Martin, Martyn Dolby lost 13-26.

Brian Martin, Nick Wilkie, Jeff Newson won 21-15.

John Holroyd, Bob Warters, Joe Randall won 27-21.

Howard Shipp, Neil Wright, Simon Law lost 19-25.


The title hopes of the Peterborough senior men’s team in the Cambs League received a setback when they managed only one rink win in a 66-78 defeat away to Wisbech A.


Peterborough 66 (2), Wisbech A 78 (8): (Peterborough rinks only):

Jeff Clipston, Richard Harrison, Mick Greaves, Rod Maplethorpe won 26-8.

Les Sharp, Ivor Jackson, Don Sutton, Mick Linnell lost 9-23.

Dave Smith, Terry English, Richard Day, Wilf Redhead lost 12-20.

Mick Fuller, Don Paul, Pete Harvey, Joe Martin lost 19-27.


The Northants Women’s Bowling Federation have made a presentation of a crystal vase to Daphne Kew on her retirement after around 30 years of bowls administration.

She retired at the recent annual meeting from her position as county chairman, having also served as secretary, treasurer and Donald Steward Trophy team captain. She was a life member of the NWBF and also Peterborough & District IBC, where she served for many years as secretary.


The Peterborough men’s team bid to reach the last 16 of the Denny Plate on Saturday when they face Bletchley in the national inter-club consolation competition.


The Peterborough League annual meeting is being held at Peterborough & District tonight at 7.30pm.