Bowls: Six teams withdraw from Peterborough League

Bowls news from the Peterborough Telegraph
Bowls news from the Peterborough Telegraph
Have your say

The release of the Peterborough League fixtures for the new season reveal that six teams have withdrawn since the end of last season with only two new additions.

Mitchells, who played under the banner of West Ward last season following the closure of their green at the end of the 2013 campaign, have pulled their teams out of the Midweek and Weekend leagues.

Both West Ward and Langtoft Pearl have each culled a team, the West Ward Wolves have gone from the Midweek League, but the city club still have five teams in the competition, while Langtoft have withdrawn a team from both the Midweek League and the Club 60 League, leaving them with two in each.

Barnack have resigned from the Weekend League, but continue with a team in the Club 60 League.

Longthorpe have added a second team to the Midweek League, while Market Deeping have followed suit in the Club 60 League.



Preliminary round: Crowland B v Burton Street Tigers; Yaxley Falcons v CoP Molins A; Whittlesey Town v Deeping; Whittlesey Manor A v CoP Belvedere; East Community B v Crowland A.

First round: East Community B/Crowland A v Whittlesey Manor B; CoP Molins B v Yaxley Eagles; East Community A v Peterborough & District A; Yaxley Falcons/CoP Molins A v Yaxley Kites; Whittlesey Manor A/CoP Belvedere v Peterborough & District B; Whittlesey Town/Deeping v Langtoft Pearl Red; Crowland B/Burton Street Tigers v Langtoft Pearl Blue; West Ward A v West Ward B.


Preliminary round: Deeping v Burton Street Tigers; Conservative v East Community A; Whittlesey Town v Werrington; Whittlesey Manor A v Yaxley Falcons; West Ward A v Crowland A; Yaxley Kites v West Ward B.

First round: Whittlesey Town/East Commmunity A v Whittlesey Manor A/Yaxley Falcons; CoP Molins B v CoP Molins A; East Community B v Crowland B; Langtoft Pearl v CoP Belvedere; Yaxley Eagles v Whittlesey Manor B; Peterborough & District B v Deeping/Burton Street Tigers; Yaxley Kites v West Ward A/Crowland A; Peterborough & District A v Conservative/East Community A.


(Club 60 KO Cup)

Preliminary round: Peterborough & District v West Ward Tigers; Market Deeping Douglas v Deeping; Bretton v Yaxley Hurricanes; Whittlesey Manor v Whittlesey Town A; Conservative v Itter Park; CoP Molins v Crowland A; CoP Belvedere v West Ward Panthers; Whittlesey Town B v Langtoft Pearl Red; Werrington v West Ward Rhinos.

First round: East Community v Langtoft Pearl Blue; Peterborough & District/West Ward Tigers v Burton Street Tigers; Whittlesey Town B/Langtoft Pearl Red v Market Deeping Wade; Whittlesey Manor/Whittlesey Town A v Crowland B; Bretton/Yaxley Hurricanes v CoP Molins/Crowland A; Market Deeping Douglas/Deeping v Conservative/Itter Park; Werrington/West Ward Rhinos v Yaxley Spitfires; West Ward Lions v Crowland B.


The Peterborough senior men’s team retained their place in the top four of the Cambs League with an 86-58 victory away to March B to collect eight of the ten points on offer.


Peterborough 86 (8), March B 58 (2): (Peterborough rinks only):

Dave Smith, Martin Hawkes, Pete Harvey, Wilf Redhead won 28-15.

Norman Gray, Richard Harrison, Phil Afford, Joe Martin won 26-11.

Mick Fuller, Jeff Clipston, Mick Greaves, Frank Paul won 20-10.

Les Sharp, Ivor Jackson, Don Sutton, Mick Linnell lost 12-22.


In the Northants Federation indoor championships, both the women’ singles and the senior singles have reached the semi-final stage, with Jenny Harvey, the defending singles champion, and Sheila Craig involved in both.

The quarter-finals produced no fewer than three 21-20 scorelines, with Julie Masters involved in two of them, winning one and losing the other, while Craig defeated Joan Robinson in both competitions.



First round: Bob Warters bt Pete Harvey 16-15; Derek King bt Martin Bailey 23-14; Adam Warrington bt John Holroyd 26-8; Richard Montgomery bt Brian Bassam 22-12.


Quarter-finals: Chris Ford bt Shirley Suffling 21-19; Julie Masters bt Judy Ford 21-20; Sheila Craig bt Joan Robinson 21-16; Jenny Harvey bt Hazel Bass 21-12.


Quarter-finals: Jenny Harvey bt Carol Warters; Judy Ford bt Fiona Richardson 21-15; Sheila Craig bt Joan Robinson 21-20; Shirley Suffling bt Julie Masters 21-20.