BOWLS: Most successful season in history is celebrated

The Adams Trophy winners from Northants Bowling Federation.
The Adams Trophy winners from Northants Bowling Federation.
Have your say

Local bowlers had plenty to celebrate when the Northants Bowling Federation held their joint men’s and women’s presentation luncheon at the Haycock Hotel, Wansford.

The county men have just enjoyed the most successful season in their long and distinguished history, which, as president Bob Warters commented, “had give him immense pride.”

Senior Singles Champion Bob Warters.

Senior Singles Champion Bob Warters.

Not only did the county win the Adams Trophy inter-county championship for the first time, they also lifted the Victor Ludorum as the top men’s team at the national championships in Skegness, also for the first time, while the president himself, who was part of the successful Adams team, put the icing on his own cake by winning the senior singles title.

The county had only twice before been to the Adams final, finishing beaten finalists to Nottinghamshire back in 1929 and to Durham thirty years later in 1959.

It proved third time lucky when Northants defeated Northumberland in the final, meaning team captain Cliff Watson, who has been in the post for three years, went out on a high as he plans to stand down next year.

Warters, who praised the way the players had pulled together as a team, was also full of admiration for the support staff and the many spectators who cheered them home at Skegness.

“Considering we are one of the smaller counties in the English Bowling Federation with just 18 clubs, it’s been a great achievement and we hope that will be a catalyst for even greater things to come,” he added.

Whittlesey Manor pair Roger Stevens and Tony Mace were congratulated on winning the senior pairs at Skegness, and Northants also featured in five other finals – Sarah and Val Newson (Parkway) in the women’s pairs; Sue Moir (Langtoft Pearl) in the women’s four-bowl singles; Robert Heath and Tony Belson (Yaxley) in the men’s pairs; Adam Warrington, Martyn Dolby, Jonathan Earl (Blackstones) in the men’s three-bowl triples; Stuart Reynolds, James Harford, Mike Robertson (Parkway) in the two-bowl triples.

Indoor wise, there was also a national title at Newark with Neil Wright, Simon Law and Tristan Morton winning the men’s triples, while Stephen Harris, Jan Want and Nick Wilkie were runners-up in the mixed triples.

English Women’s Bowling Federation national president Beryl Beresford (Notts) proposed a toast to the Northants Women’s Bowling Federation, with county secretary Liz Barr responding.

Peterborough League president Melvyn Beck proposed a toast to the Northants Bowling Federation to which county president Bob Warters responded.



Singles: Jenny Harvey; r/u Julie Masters; Senior singles: Jenny Harvey; r/u Sheila Craig; Pairs: Jenny Harvey & Carol Hunter; r/u Shirley Suffling & Margaret Andrews; Triples: Pat Bussey, Liz Hext, Sheila Craig; r/u Sue Moir, Margaret Andrews, Glenys Edwards.


Singles: Simon Law; r/u Andrew Thurston; U25 singles: James Harford; r/u Joe Randall; Senior singles: Martyn Dolby; r/u John Burrows; Pairs: Nick Wilkie & Andrew Thurston; r/u Howard Shipp & Neil Wright; Mixed pairs: Ann Holmes & Richard Allam; r/u Joan Robinson & Nick Wilkie; Triples: Neil Wright, James Harford, Simon Law; r/u Howard Shipp, Joe Randall, Jeff Newson; Mixed triples: Mary Malton, Stephen Harris, Nick Wilkie; r/u Sarah Newson, Andrew Thurston, Jeff Newson.


2b singles: Sarah Newson (Parkway); r/u Sheila Craig (Conservative); 4b singles: Sue Moir (Langtoft Pearl); r/u Sarah Newson (Parkway); Champion of Champions: Ann White (Langtoft Pearl); r/u Linda Darani (City of Peterborough); Senior singles: Fiona Richardson (City of Peterborough); r/u Joan Robinson; Secretary singles: Liz Ritchie (Empingham); r/u Linda Darani (City of Peterborough); U25 singles: Louise Harris (Blackstones).

Pairs: Sarah & Val Newson (Parkway); r/u Liz Hext & Sheila Craig (Conservative); Senior pairs: Kath Browning & Vivian Hempsell (Yaxley); r/u Dee Brinkman & Joan Robinson (Yaxley); 2b triples: Helen Crow, Sarah Newson, Pat Reynolds (Parkway); r/u Pat Bussey, Liz Hext, Sheila Craig (Conservative); 3b triples: Helen Crow, Sarah Newson, Pat Reynolds (Parkway); r/u Pat Bussey, Liz Hext, Sheila Craig (Conservative).


2b singles: Gavin Jinks (Whittlesey Manor); r/u Lee Welsford (Whittlesey Manor); 4b singles: Joe Martin (Peterborough & District); r/u Stephen Harris (Blackstones); Champion of Champions, Adam Warrington (Blackstones); r/u Graham Agger (Yaxley); Senior singles: Bob Warters (Ketton); r/u Peter Edwards (Ketton); Secretary singles: Melvyn Beck (Whittlesey Manor); r/u Andrew Grief (Crowland); U25 singles: Stephen Harris (Blackstones); r/u Jack Corney (Peterborough & District). Under 25 ‘Player of the Year’: Jack Corney.

U25 open pairs: Jack Corney (Peterborough & District) & James Harford (Parkway); r/u Darren Middleton & Stephen Harris (Blackstones); Pairs: Robert Heath & Tony Belson (Yaxley); r/u Jeff Clipston & Mick Greaves (Peterborough & District); Senior pairs: Roger Stevens & Tony Mace (Whittlesey Manor); r/u Noel Catterwell & Martin Fletcher (Langtoft Pearl); Mixed pairs: Chris Morton & Simon Law (Parkway); r/u Ann & Martin Cullingworth (Langtoft Pearl); Senior mixed pairs: Ann & Martin Cullingworth (Langtoft Pearl); r/u Joyce Needham & Martyn Dolby (Blackstones).

2b triples: Stuart Reynolds, Joe Randall, James Harford (Parkway); r/u Peter Marchant, Tony Belson, Chris Wheeler (Yaxley); 3b triples: Adam Warrington, Martyn Dolby, Jonathan Earl (Blackstones); r/u: Graham Jackson, Michael Humphreys, Roger Martin (City of Peterborough); Mixed triples: Shirley Suffling (Ketton), Nick Wilkie, Paul Buckley (Blackstones); r/u Howard Shipp, Chris Morton, Simon Law (Parkway).


Danny Duffy Trophy: Whittlesey Manor; r/u Parkway; Adams Cup: Whittlesey Manor; r/u West Ward A.