Barnack win the John Wilcox Cup final

Barnack won the Rutland League's John Wilcox Cup competition beating Wisbech by eight wickets in today's (August 27) final at Barnack.

Monday, 27th August 2018, 5:49 pm
Updated Monday, 3rd September 2018, 12:15 pm
Barnack celebrate their John Wilcox Trophy win. Picture: Chris Lowndes

Wisbech, who did well to put a competitive side out considering they also had a Cambs League fixture at Histon, batted first and were all out for 71 in 27.1 overs.

Veteran all-rounder Ajaz Akhtar starred for Barnack with the ball, taking 4-21 off his 10 overs and Arshad Majeed also took four wickets (4-16).

Only Wisbech players to reach double figures were Dom Stannard (19), Lewis Jackson (12no) and Joe Dunning (13).

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Asim Butt batting for Barnack. Picture: Chris Lowndes

Barnack then reached 74-2 in 13 overs with the main contributors being Yasir Mirza (20no) and Asim Butt (38no).

Yasir Mirza batting for Barnack. Picture: Chris Lowndes