Surprise as Eye councillor quits on eve of local elections

Cllr Dale McKean, who represented Eye and Thorney, has resigned. Photo: Rowland Hobson/Peterborough Telegraph
Cllr Dale McKean, who represented Eye and Thorney, has resigned. Photo: Rowland Hobson/Peterborough Telegraph
Have your say

A Peterborough City Councillor has surprised colleagues by handing in his resignation just weeks before May’s local elections.

Dale McKean, a Conservative, who had represented Eye and Thorney for the past two years handed in his resignation last week.

The move has come as a surprise to other councillors as Mr McKean’s seat was not up for election.

Mr McKean is currently on holiday and unavailable for comment but the PT believes his decision was made for family reasons and to concentrate on his business interests.

He was elected in 2012 and during his time as a councillor Mr McKean campaigned against controversial plans for an energy park at Newborough and also raised concerns that resources in Eye were becoming stretched as the village expanded.

Cllr David Sanders (Con, Eye and Thorney) said: “I was a little surprised but I respect Dale’s decision. He has worked very hard for the past two years and always stood for the interests of his constituents.

“I would like to wish Dale all the best for the future.”

Nineteen wards will be contested in Peterborough City Council elections on Thursday, May 22 with a total of 21 seats up for election.

The wards being contested, with the existing councillor in brackets, are: Bretton North (Wayne Fitzgerald), Central (Mohammed Jamil), Dogsthorpe (Christopher Ash), East (Marion Todd), Eye and Thorney (David Sanders and Dale McKean), Fletton and Woodston (Lucia Serluca), Glinton and Wittering (Diane Lamb), Newborough (David Harrington), North (Keith Sharp), Orton Longueville (Janet Goodwin), Orton Waterville (June Stokes), Orton with Hampton (Sheila Scott), Park (Pam Kreling), Paston (George Simons), Stanground Central (Brian Rush), Walton (Asif Shaheed), Werrington North (Stephen Lane), Werrington South (Darren Fower) and West (Nick Arculus and Matthew Dalton).

Parish council elections will also be held in Ailsworth, Castor, Glinton, Hampton Hargate and Vale, Marholm, Newborough and Borough Fen, Peakirk, Sutton, Thorney, Thornhaugh, Wansford and Wittering.

People will also be able to vote in the European elections on the same day.

The deadline to submit new applications to vote is Tuesday, 6 May.

New applications to vote by post, or cancel or change an existing postal vote must be made by 7 May at 5pm.

Factfile: There are seven new polling stations where nearby residents can cast their votes this year

Children’s Activity Centre at 37 Copeland, Bretton,

a mobile polling station in the Travelodge car park, Eye Green, Crowland Road,

Gunthorpe Primary School, The Pentlands, Gunthorpe,

City Church Peterborough, 131 Midland Road,

Hampton Community Sports Association, Beaumont Way, Hampton Hargate,

Saint Luke’s Church, 26 Benyon Grove, Orton Malborne,

Stanground Scout Hut, off Wessex Close, Stanground.

To find your nearest station visit

More Election news and coverage